My Dog Dog Food Review

9
My Dog Dog Food Review
2 Total Score

The slogan for My Dog is “Love them back”, suggesting that you’re returning their love by feeding them “delicious meals” that give “the very best nutrition”.

Don’t be fooled by marketing.

I’ll start off with a few key points, none of which are positive, but they are factual. For this review I’m looking at the With Prime Beef dry food recipe. The key word here is with – we often see this on poor quality foods and it simply means there has to be some form of beef in the food. It doesn’t mean the food is based on beef, it just means it requires some trace amount of beef. In layman’s terms that means the beef will be insignificant.

My Dog Dog Food Review

The natural canine diet to provide the very best nutrition is meat. This food is predominantly cheap cereal grains. They’re not even decent grains. How can they justify this food is nutritional? It isn’t.

If a dog has allergies or itchy skin then the main culprit is cheap grains, especially wheat, which is what we find here in the top spot. These grains – corn, wheat, and rice – provide little nutritional value. Corn inflates protein, but it’s not a protein easily digested by our dogs. They’re much better off with a decent meat source.

Thankfully we find meat as the second ingredient, but it’s in the worst form possible. When I see Meat and Meat By-Products on a label I read this as meat wastage. It’s guaranteed to be the worst parts of the animals that have been thrown in the pot, minced up, and cooked. Not nice. Also, once cooked into a kibble we’ll find most of it cooked off, making the next ingredient more significant. That ladies and gentleman, is yet another cheap grain ingredient – cereal protein. That tells me they’ve purposely inflated the protein in the food because the meat content is severely lacking.

Poultry digest is gross. It’s a broth from cooking up our cheap meats and by-products. Dead, dying, diseased animals, tumors, cysts, and who knows what else. Lucky dip?

Beet pulp is found in a lot of foods. It’s high in sugar, but also artificially hardens stools to give the impression a food is good quality. Feeding significant amounts of beet pulp over a long period of time can cause colon problems. If you love your dog then why would you do that to them?

My Dog Dog Food Review

I’ll finish off this review with glycerol (glycerin). It’s an ingredient not found in many foods, and a simple rule to take home is this – If a dog food contains glycerol, don’t buy it.

Oh hold on, we also have food colourings. Why on earth would your dog care what colour their food is?

It’s also very low in fat, ensuring your dog will be lacking in energy and lust for life.

So there you have it. If you love your dog, don’t feed My Dog.

More reviews

We need your help!

As a free resource on a mission to promote healthier pet foods we depend on you guys to spread the word. If you choose to buy pet food then we get a small commission if you use our recommended retailers, or if you have a website or blog yourself it would be fantastic if you reference us! Thank you 🙂

Ingredients

Selected Wholegrain Cereals (corn, wheat, rice & barley), Meat and Meat By-Products, Cereal Protein, Poultry Digest, Beet Pulp, Glycerol, Vegetable Oil, Vitamins & Minerals, Salt, Vegetables, Taurine, Flavours, Preservative, Food Colourings, Marigold Meal and Antioxidants.

2 Total Score
Your Poor Dog

CONS
  • Terrible.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
27 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
dianne
dianne
2 years ago

brought these biscuits for something new wish I hadn’t. My poor mini foxie spent most the night chucking up biscuits and to top it off had diarrhea as well. Should be taken off the market.

Alan
Alan
2 years ago
Reply to  dianne

Yet people just keep lining up to buy this crap. I don’t get it. If humans chose their own diet based on the most extensive marketing and/or lowest price, we would all be on an exclusive diet of McDonalds and fish & chips.

Perry Bassett
Perry Bassett
4 years ago

I SENT A REPLY BACK LETTING THEM KNOW I HAVE BOTH , THE TRAY OF THEIR ( QUAILITY DOG FOOD ) AS WELL AS THE OBJECT FOUND , MY ONLY THOUGHT ABOUT THEIR E MAIL IS THIS ! ONCE THEY RECEIVE IT BACK , THEY WILL JUST FORGET ABOUT IT , I SAY THIS , BECAUSE , I DONT KNOW ABOUT ANYONE ELSE , BUT IF THAT WAS MY COMPANY AND PRODUCT , I WOULD WANT TO SEE IT ASAP , THEIR SO CALLED , REPLY PAID ENVELOP HAS NOT TURNED UP & IM NOT HOLDING MY BREATH , THE PERSON WHOS NAME APPEARS ON THEIR E MAIL , “” DID NOT SEEM ALL THAT BOTHERED “”

Perry Bassett
Perry Bassett
4 years ago

AFTER MY COMPLAINT ABOUT WHAT I FOUND IN A TRAY OF MY DOG , THIS IS THE E MAIL THEY SENT ME , AND HAVE HEARD NOTHING SINCE..comment image comment image

Alan
Alan
4 years ago
Reply to  Perry Bassett

It could be worse, instead of a reimbursement they might have sent out more My Dog.

Pet Food Reviews
Pet Food Reviews
4 years ago
Reply to  Perry Bassett

That’s a standard response. It would be in their interest to ensure no similar incidents occur.

What I’ve found happen in a situation such as this is the manufacturer will do a covert recall of any unsold products from the batch from the stores they were sold to. What they won’t do is announce the issue – it damages their reputation and profits.

It’s unlikely you’ll get more than a refund.

Perry Bassett
Perry Bassett
4 years ago

Heres the problem Im having,, I have NOT heard from them at all , apart from the e- mail . VERY BAD SERVICE ,

Alan
Alan
4 years ago
Reply to  Perry Bassett

Did you end up sending the item to them?

Perry Bassett
Perry Bassett
4 years ago

Have just opened a sachet of MY DOG 100G Beef & Liver , ONLY TO FIND ,A piece of glass or plastic in it . Tried to call their 1800 number ,ONLY to get an answering machine. IT SAYS , QUALITY FOOD FOR DOGS !!!!

Pet Food Reviews
Pet Food Reviews
4 years ago
Reply to  Perry Bassett

Hi Perry, do you have a photo?

It’s lucky you found the glass before feeding it to your dog. I can try and notify My Dog but would need the sell by date and batch number.

I can post a warning on Facebook.

Perry Bassett
Perry Bassett
4 years ago

comment image comment image comment image

Pet Food Reviews
Pet Food Reviews
4 years ago
Reply to  Perry Bassett

That’s concerning, it’s a big piece of glass

Perry Bassett
Perry Bassett
4 years ago

thanks,, As for the company, I have rung them , I have filled out their COMPLAINT FORM , But they will not allow it to be submitted , apparently, I do not know my own name,, address,, e-mail or phone number cause their complaint form says this ( SOME FIELDS ARE INCORRECT ) THE WOMAN i SPOKE TO , TOLD ME , DO NOT SWEAR,, CAN YOU GUESS THE NEXT 2 WORDS FROM MY MOUTH ? IM NOT HAPPY AND THEY WILL BE HEARING ABOUT IT IN COURT..

Perry Bassett
Perry Bassett
4 years ago

IVE POSTED ON FACEBOOK ,AS WELL AS TWITTER.

Perry Bassett
Perry Bassett
4 years ago

sell by date,, 01-09-2019….

Veronika
Veronika
4 years ago
Reply to  Perry Bassett

Don’t know why they bother saying it’s quality when it’s obvious nothing can beat Ziwipeak in terms of quality canned food, I have to literally hold myself back every time I open a can because I want to eat it so bad that’s how good it smells!

Jennifer Philippiadis
Jennifer Philippiadis
4 years ago

No – only wet and dry and the beef and veal and a very small bit of flax oil drops over the years – short haired Chihuahua.

Jennifer Philippiadis
Jennifer Philippiadis
4 years ago

my dogs have always eaten this and one lived to be 20 years old! I still would rather use the best for my present dog…

Pet Food Reviews
Pet Food Reviews
4 years ago

Hi Jennifer, did you feed any other foods alongside My Dog?

C&P
C&P
4 years ago

Our Bull Arab-cross puppy is currently eating this in wet form. I would say he prefers it over any other brand we have tried in the past. Stool is frequent but the vet believes this is nothing unusual and that we have a healthy and happy little puppy. I would recommend this brand, most definitely as all I can really go on is our experiences with it.

Amateria
Amateria
5 years ago

I just remembered a little something to do with this food earlier, we had actually been buying and feeding this to Rusty I think when he was younger, I don’t remember very well or very much but I find it interesting that I had forgotten.

He also ate another brand with tallow and what not cant find the name of it (vip natures goodness grain free :p) anyways it didn’t take him long to get sick on that food, also wellness which I remember no problem, remember him getting sick from it after only 2 weeks.

Vanessa Muller
Vanessa Muller
5 years ago

I have change my dogs food from (My Dog) to (Allpaws) but he seems to be scratting more, he is also allergic to beef, so the Allpaws is chicken any suggestions why this would be

Shawn
Shawn
6 years ago

Well my little Pomeranian just had a hernia operation (2.4k) directly because of this “my dog” food as told by my dogs surgeon. My dogs diet consists of “my dog” food, dry food and the occasional human food from the table. He goes for a walk at minimum once a day.

The surgeon said the fiber in the cans are not souly enough for his every day diet.

I hope this helps your dog food choice.

Shawn

sandra dunn
sandra dunn
6 years ago

I am having trouble with my little dog she loves my dog but I can only buy it beef and roasted veg she only eats the beef and throws everthing else on the floor my question is do u make only beef not aloud chicken I have may brands but she will not eat so I am throwing away the other dry all the time thank u hope u can help Sandra dunn

Stephanie Tardrew
Stephanie Tardrew
5 years ago
Reply to  sandra dunn

Buy some beef mince & feed your dog this…I make dog food for my two Maltese & over time they’ve learned to love it.

27
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x