Petzyo Dog Food Review

WebsitePetzyo.com.au
Available fromBuy direct (10% off your first order with coupon code PETREVIEW)*

Petzyo is a very cool Australian deliver-to-your-door pet food company. They’ve been around a few years now and have established a loyal following with a lot of great feedback.

For our Petzyo dog food review we’ll focus on the Chicken & Turkey dry food formula, but keep in mind they also offer an excellent range of raw dog food, treats, and a couple of other dry formulas. I’ll skirt over the raw dog food as well as it’s well worth mentioning.

Petzyo dog food review – Chicken & Turkey

What the marketing says

I love the fresh approach Petzyo use with their marketing. There’s no nonsense on the bag, it simply says “Petzyo – Kibble that counts”.

There’s a few claims such as “Australian Made & Owned”, “Sustainably-sourced”, as well as “Grain Free” and “100% natural”.

It’s nice they haven’t plastered the bag with pictures of gourmet chicken and fresh stem broccoli like you find on other Australian brands made mostly of cereal grains. Simplicity is best.

What the ingredients really say

The nice thing about the Petzyo dry food formulas is all the ingredients are decent inclusions. It’s preserved naturally with rosemary rather than ambiguous chemicals, and it’s great to see they use sustainable meats from Australian farms.

In the Chicken & Turkey formula we find the top two ingredients are what we’d expect – sustainable chicken and turkey. Both are lean meats rich in protein your dog can digest, so we’re off to a really good start with Petzyo.

Next we find a nice mix of non-meat ingredients, each with nutritional merit. It’s nice to see a mix rather than bulking up the food with something like corn (like you find in many other Australian brands).

Petzyo Dog Food Review
10% off Petzyo! (click here)

They start with sweet potato as an excellent low-GI ingredient with a range of nutritional benefits. It’s a source of antioxidant beta-carotene which has shown to protect against cancer and heart disease, and it’s also a great source of fibre.

Peas and lentils are included which are great in moderation (again, with some other Australian brands we find most of the formula to be just peas). These will add vitamins and minerals to the mix, all of which are beneficial to your dog.

The mix is rounded off with a range of ingredients you’ll instantly recognise as nutritious – carrots, broccoli, tomato, spinach, kelp, blueberries, parsley, basil, oregano, and the wonderful anticarcinogenic spice turmeric.

For heart health, joint health, skin and coat, Petzyo have included not one but three omega-rich ingredients. These are chicken oil, flaxseed oil, and fish oil.

All in all I find the formula of Petzyo dry foods very balanced. The protein sits around 25% which is above average, and 11% fat could be bulked up by adding some fresh meats/fats to your dog’s diet.

You’ll find some premium brands boast more protein (over 30%) but also come at a higher price, but boosting nutrition with the Petzyo raw dog food is a great answer for this – I’ll cover that next.

Petzyo raw dog food / BARF patties

I’m a big fan of raw patties as a convenient way of offering your dog excellent unmolested nutrition. They come frozen, so all you need to do is take a patty out of the freezer in the morning for your dog’s evening meal.

All three formulas in the Petzyo BARF range are single protein, so great if your dog has a sensitivity to a specific meat. You’ll find a combination of raw meat, ground bone, and organs such as liver and kidney as the most nutrient-rich animal ingredients.

Like the Petzyo dry food formulas you’ll find a range of vegetables and fruits, and eggs as a complete-protein source.

You really get what you pay for, with so many quality inclusions in the patties. Cold-pressed flaxseed oil is great to see, as is yoghurt and chia seeds. It’s starting to sound like a fitness-junkie’s morning smoothie.

Dog’s are essentially carnivorous animals with a digestive system geared to digest raw meat, so if you’re in any way put off with raw feeding just keep in mind thousands of dogs these days thrive on raw foods.

The Petzyo raw dog food is well worth considering, and a mix of dry food and raw patties is a great way to feed a dog without cost spiralling out of control.

Where to buy Petzyo

Petzyo dry and raw food products are available directly from their website, delivered to your door. You can set up regularly deliveries and cancel any time.

BONUS! We’ve arranged with Petzyo a special 10% discount on your first order with this link!

Or use coupon code PETREVIEW.

Ingredients

Ingredients of Petzyo dog food (Chicken & Turkey with Superfood Extras):

Sustainable Chicken, Turkey, Sweet Potato, Peas, Lentils, Carrots, Broccoli & Broccoli Stem, Tomato, Spinach, Kelp, Blueberries, Rosemary, Parsley, Basil, Oregano, Turmeric, Chicken Oil, Flaxseed Oil, Fish Oil, Vitamin and Minerals (Vitamins A, B1, B2, B6, B11, B12, D, E, K, Taurine, Niacin, Folic Acid, Biotin, Choline, Pantonthenic Acid, Omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids, Iron, Zinc, Copper, Manganese, Selenium, Iodine and Cobalt).

Guaranteed analysis

The guaranteed analysis of Petzyo dog food (Chicken & Turkey with Superfood Extras):

Protein(min) 27%
Fat(min) 11%
Crude Fibre(max) 5%
Carbohydrates *41% (as stated by Petzyo, 5% ash)
* May be estimated. Read how to calculate carbohydrates in a pet food.

We hope our Petzyo dog food review has been of use. If you feed Petzyo please offer personal feedback in the comments below. Thanks!

* Please note I will receive a commission if this coupon code is used (Pet Food Reviews is costly and time consuming to run, so it really helps – thank you).

Calling Aussie pet lovers – join the mailing list!

9 Total Score
Petzyo dog food review (dry + BARF)

Petzyo offer very well balanced dog foods with a range of meat and vegetable ingredients, preserved naturally, and delivered to your door. A good choice.

PROS
  • Very well balanced.
  • Raw patties are excellent.

David D'Angelo

David D'Angelo has worked as a scientist since graduating with a BSc (Hons) in 2000. In addition, David holds a CPD accredited Diploma in Pet Nutrition as well as being CPD accredited VSA (Veterinary Support Assistant). However, his experience and involvement in the pet food industry for 15+ years has given true insight into pet food, formulations, science, research, and pet food marketing. Facebook | LinkedIn | Instagram | Pinterest

33 Comments
  1. Just received my first delivery of Petzyo Chicken and Turkey. It says sustainably sourced but the first two ingredients are chicken and turkey meat meal. I thought they weren’t using meat meal although I have to admit I don’t really know why meat meal is not desirable.

  2. Your review states the brand to be afforable but when i do the feeding guide calculations it comes out quite expensive for a dry kibble.

    The 16kg bag as per the feeding guide is slated to only last 30days. 450g/day for a 30kg active Labrador is quite high compared to foods such as Lifewise and Pet Food AUstralia which are down around 250g/day

    • Reply
      Pet Food Reviews (Australia) January 12, 2024 at 2:12 am

      Hi Josh, thanks for the feedback – noted.

      Although LifeWise is a good option in comparison, I feel Pet Food Australia hasn’t met the same level of quality. That’s based on consumer feedback I’ve personally received, although nothing over the past few months. Petzyo use a lot of high quality ingredients, as do LifeWise.

  3. My dog got really sick from eating their chicken dry food the yellow one.The hair starts falling and his skin is allergic maybe its just him but we did try other flavour and still the same. I think this is because both of their raw or kibble has minimum protein but more carbs which is not ideal for dog.

    • Reply
      Pet Food Reviews (Australia) October 3, 2023 at 12:10 am

      Hi Veronika, it definitely sounds like your dog has a dietary intolerance to something in the formula. Has he reacted to any other foods in the past? How old is he?

  4. Great dog food! I’ve tried many other brands over the years for my dog and Petzyo is far and beyond the best.
    They also deliver quickly which is important to me.

  5. Hiya Pet Food Reviews!

    I’ve seen a lot of reviews where the amount of carbs within the dog food lowers the overall score of the product. Petzyo is one of the higher rated foods on the site but also has a high amount of carbs with lower protein and fat in comparison to the other high-rated foods.

    What makes the higher amount of carbs in Petzyo different from other kibbles?

    • Reply
      Pet Food Reviews (Australia) August 4, 2023 at 11:23 pm

      Hi Lauren, very well observed! There’s a few formulas such as this I’ve rated higher for a number of reasons. Lifewise is another example with a formula similar to Petzyo.

      Feedback has been very good with these formulas, and although being higher carbohydrate than some of the other top-rated dog foods they’re also more affordable – important for many. I also find Petzyo more balanced in terms of ingredients than, say, a meat + rice formula which is often mostly rice, and some meat. Standard and quality of ingredients matters too, and although I never refer to it in reviews – some manufacturers are clearly better than others, or at least with some manufacturers I get a great deal of negative feedback, and others I don’t.

  6. Can You confirm if the Chicken and Turkey is meat, or meal?

  7. Hey Team, love your work. Was wondering if Petzyo BARF has its own score? Thank you

    • Reply
      Pet Food Reviews (Australia) August 30, 2022 at 4:16 pm

      Hi Renee, the Petzyo raw foods seem really good and I’ve had some great feedback. I’m hoping to write up a review in the next couple of weeks, so watch this space!

  8. This is an excellent web site and you’ve clearly put a huge amount of time into it. Have used it for a while now – when looking for quality food my my previous 40kg dog. Have now got a 10 week Border Collie/Kelpie x and feel that Petzyo is the best one. Have had her on Meals for Mutts – based on your recommendation. Will be trying her on this and then give feed back on how she has progressed. Once again – thanks for the site.

    • Reply
      Pet Food Reviews (Australia) July 27, 2022 at 10:10 pm

      Hi Brent, thanks for the feedback and it’s always good to hear the reviews have helped!

      • Why is Petzyo 2nd BEST 2024 kibble??

        Its awful for growing Puppies, the FISH OIL is 2nd last ingredient, puppies aren’t going to get their Omega 3= EPA & DHA from FISH for their Eyes, Heart, Skin, Joints, Coat, Brain Health??
        The Calcium & Phosphuros arent balanced properly for Large Breed Puppies.

        Petzyo has peas or Lentils as 2nd ingredient,some formulas have peas while other Petzyo formulas its lentils as 2nd ingredient.

        SWEET POTATO is the 4th ingredients?? not 2nd ingredient like you say.
        ALSO I wouldnt be feeding my puppy this Kibble

        I WOULD NOT FEED A LARGE BREED PUPPY THE KANAGROO & SWEET POTATO its 1.6%-Calcium & 2%-Phosphuros..

        Calcium(Ca) / Phosphorus (P) Ratio
        1.6 : 1 (2% Ca in recipe)
        Petzyo isnt balanced properly for growing puppies. Fish OIl is 2nd last ingredient??.

        I hope you are not sterring pet owners who aren’t as knowledgeable in puppy & adult pet foods towards this cheaper unbalanced Aussie pet food when there are heaps better Puppy kibbles out there that are cheaper & a premium, balanced Kibbles out there.
        Also the cheaper Supermarket brands like Optimum & Supercoat Large Breed Puppy would be balanced properly for a growing LB Puppy for the 1st 2 yrs old if life.

        If people like Petyzo set up then look at “SCRATCH Pet Food” it has LB Puppy & Adult formula’s & Balanced properly & has Salmon Oil..

        I read Petzyo

        Petzyo ingredients- Dont forget ingredient list are done when raw heaviest top & the lightest ingredeints- bottom & Salt can NOT be more then 1% so any ingredients after the SALT are under 1%
        Petyzo are that dishonest they haven’t wrote Salt% in ingredient list so the Fish Oil that is 2nd last ingredient will be a drop in your Puppy/adult dogs diet.

        *Kangaroo & Sweet Potatoes
        Carbs are 40%

        Kangaroo
        Lentils
        Peas
        Sweet Potato
        Chicken Oil
        Kangaroo Offal
        Sunflower Oil
        Tomato
        Basil
        Spinach
        Broccoli
        Carrot
        Rosemary
        Oregano
        Parsley
        Flaxseed Oil
        Kelp
        Turmeric
        Blueberries
        Chicory
        Hemp Seed Oil
        Fish Oil
        Green Tea

        *Petzyo Chicken & Turkey kibble.
        Carbs-42%

        Chicken & Turkey
        Peas
        Lentils
        Sweet Potato
        Chicken Offal
        Sunflower Oil
        Tomato
        Basil
        Spinach
        Broccoli
        Carrot
        Rosemary
        Oregano
        Parsley
        Flaxseed Oil
        Kelp
        Turmeric
        Blueberries
        Chicory
        Hemp Seed Oil
        Fish Oil
        Yucca Extract
        Green Tea

        *Petzyo Salmon & Ocean fish Kibble.
        Carbs-45%

        Salmon & Oceanfish
        Peas
        Lentils
        Sweet Potato
        Salmon Offal
        Sunflower Oil
        Green Lipped Mussels
        Tomato
        Spinach
        Broccoli
        Carrots
        Rosemary
        Oregano
        Parsley
        Flaxseed Oil
        Kelp
        Turmeric
        Fish Oil
        Hemp Seed Oil
        Yucca Extract
        Green Tea

        • Hi Susan, Dave here, founder of Petzyo.

          Thanks for your comments, we appreciate your passion in identifying what products are appropriate in the marketplace, particularly for puppies at critical stages in their development.

          A couple of things to set straight, within our Kangaroo formulation, we had this reformulated last year to be suitable for all life stages ( prior to this we did state that it was not suitable for Giant Breed puppies).

          The reformulation also addressed some variation in the calcium & phosphorus levels caused by higher levels of boning in kangaroo processing. Since reformulation I can confirm that the Calcium/ Phosphorous ratio of this product is 1.5 parts Calcium to 1 (1.5:1) part Phosphorous. Calcium makes up 1.5% of the product and phosphorous is just under 1%.

          It appears that a recent update on our site reverted these numbers to the original ratio so we appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we have adjusted this to the correct values.

          Second to this Salt within the product is ~0.5% and is typically listed under the Minerals section.

          With regards to the Omega 3 and 6 Essential fatty acids, we formulate to provide the following:

          Linoleic + Arachidonic Acid ( Omega 6 ) is 2.7 g/100g Dry Matter (DM) ( AAFCO requirement for puppies is 1.1g/100gDM ) and

          Alpha Linolenic acid (omega 3) is 0.08g/100gDM ( AAFCO requirement is 0.5/100g) and EPA is 0.02% and DHA is 0.03% with AAFCO requiring 0.05%DM EPA+DHA.

          We recently removed hemp seed oil and replaced it with additional Fish Oil and expect the DHA and EPA to increase substantially, we will be performing an independent lab test on the fatty acid profiles prior to updating any Omega 6:3 analysis under the ingredients section of our site in the coming weeks.

          We welcome your feedback and if you would like to discuss any of this further please don’t hesitate in reaching us at yo@petzyo.com.au. We are keen to be as transparent as possible and sometimes that means we need to be made aware of where our information is falling short at providing our customers or potential customers with all the information, thanks again for taking the time to comment.

          Wag happier, Dave

  9. Doesn’t suit Greyhound.

    great company, good ingredients, flawless online experience. Sadly, dog is better off with Aldi natural elements range

    • hey I’m about to get a whippet puppy and was looking at this brand for feed for him, can I ask what isn’t suitable for these breeds?

      • Reply
        Pet Food Reviews (Australia) March 21, 2022 at 9:47 pm

        Hi Emily, it depends on activity levels but like with any dog a focus on meat proteins, meat fats, and low carbs is always the best start.

  10. peas are something I want to avoid – desperately want to avoid in fact. Are there any Australian made grain free biscuit options on the market that do not have peas in them?

    • I have been using “Healthy Everyday Pets” it contains no peas, no legumes and has great ingredients. I’m using Kangaroo and lamb at the moment for my two greyhounds, they get raw food too. The ingredients for Kangaroo and lamb are Grass Fed Lamb Meal, Kangaroo Meal, Beef Meal, Tapioca/Cassava, Beef Tallow (preserved with mixed tocopherals), Fish/Tuna Meal, Beef Broth, Alfalfa, Marine Fish Oil, Coconut Oil, Arrowroot, Whole Egg Powder, Yucca Shidigera, Kelp, Kale, Parsley, FOS, Hydrolysed Yeast, Turmeric, Glucosamine, Green Lipped Mussel, Vitamin Supplements (A, D, E, K, B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, B9, B12, Choline, Biotin), Organic Trace Mineral Supplements (Zinc, Iron, Copper, Manganese, Iodine, Selenium), Natural Antioxidants (mixed tocopherols and rosemary extract) Vitamin E, Taurine, Vitamin C., Probiotics (Bacillus subtilis, Bacillus licheniformis) and multi-strain enzyme blend. I buy mine via Pet Circle, good price and quick, free delivery for orders over $50

    • As of April 2018, Meals for Mutts are advising that they have removed peas from all of their formulas, so that’s one option.

    • A lot of grain free recipes will use peas in their formula, they’re a good source of fibre and they do add more protein to the mix. Do you want to avoid any ingredient like peas? I do know that Meals for Mutts Grain Free formulas in Salmon & Sardine as well as the Duck & Turkey do not have peas but they do contain lentils. I’m not sure about other Australian made foods but Ziwi Peak has no peas in their formulas, they’re not Australian but New Zealand but still they are an amazing food.

      • Hello Jacki, it gets more and more complex I believe. We love M4M and have all our dogs on it but we have recently produced a litter of puppies with half of them having deformities (anencephaly). Our Vet advised this is a form of NTD but all of our girls are all on Folate supplements. My research has opened up the possibility that some plant matter – including legumes, and peas are high in phytates which bind to zinc in the gut preventing it from being available. Zinc is another vital source in the prevention of NTDs in humans. NOTE: We have also had other dogs deliver healthy pups while being on M4M but they are a different breed. The ones producing the problem have been associated with zinc deficiency disorders. I am just wondering if we exacerbated the problem.

        • I’ve heard of that happening but with flaxseed I think, but a reviewer someplace else also mentioned problems with puppies and legumes, because of the phylates.

        • Neridah. That’s a tough problem and I’m sorry to hear about the puppies, hopefully you and your vet can figure out the underlying problem and take action so it doesn’t happen again. I’ll keep an eye open for any foods passing through the boutique that don’t have any legumes at all in them, but for now the only one I know of is Ziwi Peak. Good luck in getting everything figured out.

  11. So you reviewed it then, I had hoped the mention of a new kibble would benefit Patch but from their Facebook page they only sell within Melbourne for now. Patch is seriously going downhill and from what I’ve been reading Susan has been trying everything, he’s back on homemade now and I hope he’s not too far gone to save.

    Besides that it looks good for a kibble and if it were available outside of Melbourne, I’d give it a go after this MfM I mean why not? If it doesn’t work I have a friend who can always use good quality kibble. She’s brought the MfM grain free cost her like $160 with postage and so far so good, Axel’s 200% healthier and that’s what I like to hear.

    • Hi Edana
      Sue and yourself have provided me with great information. One comment stuck with me and that was that Australia doesn’t or didn’t have strict pet food laws that exist in the USA. Hence I purchase kibble from the USA for my dogs
      Would you say this is still the case? Considering trying this brand

      • Reply
        Pet Food Reviews (Australia) July 17, 2023 at 5:21 pm

        Hi Alison, yes this is the case – the Australian pet food industry is self-regulated, which means the standards are defined by the industry itself, with no safety guards like a recall system or way for consumers to address issues.

        The USA has AAFCO standards which are often but not always used as a fallback for Australian brands, but I wouldn’t say they’re great either – they allow pet foods for carnivorous animals to be made with ingredients inappropriate for their nutritional needs and marketed as healthy or even scientific.

        I gauge a pet food on ingredients and grade of ingredients, composition, manufacturer, consumer feedback and so forth, so hopefully provide a good estimation of how decent a pet food may be, whether Australian or otherwise.

  12. Reply
    Pet Food Reviews (Australia) May 30, 2022 at 9:35 pm

    Thanks for the feedback Dave, that’s interesting – and appreciated.

Leave a reply

Pet Food Reviews (Australia)
Logo
Shopping cart