Pet Food Australia Dog Food Review

23
Pet Food Australia Dog Food Review
7.8 Total Score
  • Decent meat content
  • Hemp seed oil - rich in omegas.

Aussies love to buy Australian Made, so calling a brand Pet Food Australia is a very smart way to attract Australian buyers. But is the food any good? Is it better than other Australian brands?

In our Pet Food Australia dog food review we’ll take a look at the marketing, ingredients, and guaranteed analysis, and you can decide for yourself if this is what you want to feed your dog.

Pet Food Australia dog food review

What the marketing says

One of the key qualities the Pet Food Australia company boast about is hemp oil, which is a novelty when it comes to dog food formulations. It’s actually a great inclusion for skin, coat, heart health, and anxiety, and is rich in omega fats.

On the Pet Food Australia website they claim to be different from other manufacturers by tailoring their dog food to specifically help dogs with a range of conditions – chronic itchy skin, anxiety & stress, dry & dull coats, digestion & stomach issues, joint inflammation & pain, weight problems, gunky ears, ear infections, and anal gland issues.

Truth is there are many dog food brands in Australia which address most of the above health issues simply by having a species-appropriate formula, although anxiety & stress definitely hails more to the hemp oil in the food.

Most of the above conditions can be addressed by switching to a better dog food, and in the case of itchy skin and ear infections simply avoiding wheat and cereal grain dog foods will work wonders.

Pet Food Australia Dog Food Review

Pet Food Australia state the Australian pet food industry has “gotten away with its profit hungry attitude” for far too long by using sub-standard ingredients and fillers. This is definitely something we agree with, especially as Australian dog food is essentially self-regulated by the industry with standards which are laughably voluntary.

We also find on the Pet Food Australia website a list of consumer reviews of which many say the health of their dog has vastly improved since being introduced to this dog food. That’s a good thing and shows the dog food is working, but none of those reviews account for what the dogs were fed previously, which was likely some cheap and nasty wheat-based crap from the supermarkets.

What the ingredients really say

We often find the marketing bares very little relation to the ingredients, but it has to be said this doesn’t happen to be the case with the Pet Food Australia dog food formulas.

Let’s take a look at the Grain-Free with Turkey, Chicken, and Ocean Fish formula with included Hemp Oil…

We find a trio of meat ingredients (turkey, chicken, and ocean fish) at the top of the ingredients list. This is great to see given dogs really need meat to thrive. They’re all protein-dense meal ingredients which means water has already been cooked off, so you can be assured the meat content in this dog food is significant.

Meat meals are, however, inclusive of carcass. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but is worth considering.

We find potato and peas as the 4th and 5th ingredients, but it’s possible these are included in the same portion size as the three meat ingredients. Along with chicken fat as the 6th ingredient that would make the food 4 parts animal ingredients to 2 parts vegetables – that’s pretty good.

The composition of all Pet Food Australia dog food formulas is decent, boasting a minimum 30% protein (from meat but also peas) plus minimum 16% fat. This ensures a minimal amount of carbs (possibly one third of the product). Compare that to most supermarket brands and you’ll see it’s a lot better, and more so when you consider most protein is coming from meat ingredients.

Pet Food Australia Dog Food Review

Even the smaller ingredients inclusions show this is a decent dog food. We mentioned the benefits of hemp oil earlier, and this should benefit your dog in numerous ways.

We also find kelp, coconut oil, alfalfa, plus a range of fruits and veggies. Although minor inclusions, these should still offer your dog health benefits. You won’t find ingredients such as this added to cheaper dog foods (i.e. the cheaper foods that may have given your dog itchy skin, poor coat, and gunky ears).

Consumer feedback

We note a number of negative reports about Pet Food Australia dog food since mid-2020, as well as the company not honouring their 30 day money back guarantee. If you have had a positive or negative experience with this brand please leave a comment below as this is useful information for anyone considering purchasing this brand.

Is Pet Food Australia suitable as a puppy food?

We find no mention of AAFCO compliance on the Pet Food Australia website. AAFCO is an American standard for minimum nutrient profiles for growth and adult dogs (Australia does not have it’s own standard in this respect). The website does mention the Turkey formula will be suitable for 6 months+ as a general recommendation.

Based on this information we would not recommend feeding this to a puppy younger than one year.

A summary of Pet Food Australia dog food

Pet Food Australia dog food has a very respectable meat content, good choice of other main ingredients (peas and potato in moderation), and a nice selection of smaller inclusions chosen for their individual health benefits.

All in all Pet Food Australia dog food seems pretty good, but are slightly deterred by consumer feedback.

Where to buy Pet Food Australia

Did this review help?

I’d love your thoughts and feedback, and others would to. Please comment if you have anything to add! Pet Food Reviews takes up huge amounts of my time, so if these reviews have helped you, please tell others! The small commissions from the “where to buy links” really help, so please use them! Thank you 🙂

Similar Australian dog food brands

We feel Pet Food Australia is comparable to other Australian brands including Stay Loyal, Black Hawk, and Ivory Coat. Being a private label pet food it’s likely made in the same facility as other Australian brands of dog food.

Ingredients

Ingredients of Pet Food Australia dog food (Turkey, Chicken, and Ocean Fish with Hemp Oil formula):

Turkey Meal, Chicken Meal, Ocean Fish Meal, Potato, Peas, Chicken Fat (preserved with Mixed Tocopherols, a source of Vitamin E & Citric Acid), Hemp Seed Oil, Carrot, Dried Kelp, Dried Egg Product, Coconut Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Apple, Alfalfa Meal, Beta Carotene, Blueberry, Rosemary Plant Extract, Spinach, Vitamins(A, B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, B12, D3, E, K3, Biotin, Folic Acid, Niacin), Taurine, Minerals (Copper, Iron, Manganese).

Guaranteed analysis

Guaranteed analysis of Pet Food Australia dog food (Turkey, Chicken, and Ocean Fish with Hemp Oil formula):

Protein(min) 30%
Fat(min) 16%
Crude Fibre4%
Carbohydrates *Estimated 36%
* May be estimated. Read how to calculate carbohydrates in a pet food.
7.8 Total Score
Pet Food Australia Dog Food Review

It's nice to see an independent Aussie manufacturer producing such a decent food.

PROS
  • Decent meat content
  • Hemp seed oil - rich in omegas.

5 1 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
28 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Paul White
6 days ago

I have fed my three dogs, (2 Dobermans & a standard Fox Terrier), 3 types of kibble all their lives. I started with Ivory Coat. They used to be an Australian owned company and I was very happy with it. But then it changed hand and consumers wondered if standards would drop. Yes they did. Next I went to Meals for Mutts. I was happy with this food but at that time they only had a 14kg option and I had to order multiples. I moved to Pet Food Australia next and haven’t looked back. My two Dobes had flaky skin and the idea of Hemp Oil option was attractive. They no longer have this dandruff or itch. They have thrived on PFA food so I am happy and so are they. I should add that each time I feed them I mix in a 385gr tin of No Name tuna, (in Springwater not oil). The No Name tins cost only $3 at Woolies and it adds a bit more protein plus taste.

Deborah
2 months ago

We have been feeding our Staffy cross this dog food for almost two years with not one problem at all. His stools are 99% consistent, no irritation of skin and he continues to love it. Hence why we have kept feeding him this. Very happy customer.

Krystyne Barrett
4 months ago

I use the adult kibble for my Labradoodle and have had no issues but recently bought 3 bags of the puppy kibble for my 4 month old new puppy Labradoodle and found a piece of green rubber embedded in 1 biscuit and have found numerous grains embedded in other biscuits. I messaged Pet Food Australia about the green rubber and sent photos and info on the use by date and batch number to which they responded with a message saying that they would send a replacement bag and that the rest of my bag was fine to feed my puppy. I responded with photos of the grain in the biscuits and that I would not be feeding my puppy anymore of their food until I was guaranteed that there was no foreign objects that my pup could ingest and that they could also guarantee that their food was indeed grain free as marketed. After 10 days I sent a follow up message saying I was concerned that they hadn’t responded and I thought they should take the issue more seriously, they came back with the excuse that they were short staffed and they would send a pre paid satchel to me so I could send them the contaminated biscuits. I fear that if I send them that’s the last I’ll hear of it and they’ll keep on selling food that is obviously not grain free and has possible foreign objects embedded in the biscuits. In the meantime the replacement bag arrived, it has the same use by date and batch number as the bag with the problems. They obviously have not taken my issue seriously and I wish there was some way I could get these biscuits tested myself (I’ve kept them in separate zip lock bags) or have the company investigated.

Krystyne Barrett
4 months ago

I have sent part of the green rubber and some of the grain embedded kibble back to Pet Food Australia,however they only requested this after I sent a follow up message 10 days later (after hearing nothing from them) expressing how concerned I was that I had heard nothing from them and that I thought it was a issue that should have been taken more seriously than what they seemed to be doing

0B2B0ED8-2E4B-4C00-801F-17970CD884E7.jpeg
Amanda
5 months ago

We have been buying this brand for a while now. In one of the recent bags, we found that there was a strange fibre sticking out of the pieces of kibble. They informed that it was probably raw material from the supplier but they would not be able to get to the bottom of it. I thought that was strange. If there was a contaminant in the food, wouldn’t you want to do a thorough investigation?

Amanda
5 months ago

Yes! That’s exactly how it was. At first I thought it was string or wire but what you said made sense. This was from the kangaroo variant. So maybe kangaroo hair? They replaced a bag after I told them about it. I still felt doubtful but now I feel more assured that it’s safe. Thank you!

Sharree Cowie
6 months ago

I brought this product as it sounded like a great kibble and the marketing kind of pulled me in but I have since stopped feeding both my BCs this kibble as they weirdly both started incessantly scratching and biting and when I looked they had wee red welts. They have been on antihistamines for five days and they are coming right now that I have stopped feeding them it. I am sure it is a good kibble and maybe there was just something a bit off about this bag but i guess I will never know! Just wish I had brought the small introductory bag instead of going all in!!!

Edanna
6 months ago
Reply to  Sharree Cowie

There was a post on this recently this is what 2 people said about it.

Very dishonest company.. I wouldn’t feed it. 
Any company that uses fake reviews and removes all bad reviews and blocks people that have a genuine issue with the kibble wouldn’t get me as a customer. 
I had a issue with a sample bag and they blocked me LOL.

And.

Won’t touch them with a 10ft pole! 
They delete anything negative and remove you from their pages. 
I bought serval bags and found heaps of random kibble that looked like friskies or pedigree and they stayed it was “single protein kibble” regardless they should have resolved the issue but instead they ignored it and blocked me. 
Other people have had similar problems with them.

Sharree Cowie
6 months ago
Reply to  Edanna

Yes they have deleted my 2 star review and I have just asked for a refund as my vet took one look at the kibble and said it is covered in mould and it is probably why my two dogs had a reaction. I felt so silly that I had not noticed. My poor dogs have almost gone crazy with the itching! Not a transparent company if they are deleting negative reviews. I very disappointed given that it is an Aussie company!

Edanna
6 months ago
Reply to  Sharree Cowie

That’s the problem with no regulations, they can put what they want into the food, market it however they want and delete reviews if it suits them. Meals for Mutts deletes and blocks as well. Australia needs regulations ASAP.

We could honestly use percentages like in the UK as well, so we can see if the stuff we buy is truly quality or trash.

Mould that causes itching, how interesting, I thought there was only the one type. Like I know there’s many moulds, but I thought 1 type as in makes you sick. Interesting that there’s itching moulds out there.

Sharree Cowie
6 months ago
Reply to  Edanna

Well it could have been an ingredient they reacted too, the vet just thought it was interesting that both dogs reacted! All I know is they almost back to normal now they back on their old food!

Sharree Cowie
6 months ago
Reply to  Sharree Cowie

Update – they may delete reviews but they did give me a full refund and deal with the issue professionally.

Edanna
6 months ago
Reply to  Sharree Cowie

So much bad publicity, maybe they’ve changed who knows. But honestly they should remove the bulls**t claims and be real about their food. Like one claim they made is their food replaces your vet, umm what?

Edanna
6 months ago

I was disappointed with Frontier lying to a friend though, he had been asking them about the cat food for 3 years and he kept getting lied to. I had to go on Facebook and make up a post, just to get the truth. Which I did, but it should never have been that way in the first place. She should of been honest from the very start about what’s going on with it and the timeframe.

Edanna
6 months ago

I still don’t condone lying of any kind, was it really so hard to say it’s a machine issue and will be coming in 2022? because I don’t see what the problem with saying that is. I think it’s an issue of food trials though, I think their still trialling it. Could be both though.

Can you tell me why I cannot edit my older comments? I’d like to edit something, but the button won’t appear. I can see it here, but that’s it.

Last edited 6 months ago by Edanna
Keryn
5 months ago
Reply to  Sharree Cowie

Hi Sharee we took our 12 year old staffie cross kelpie off this food as she was having regular gut flare ups and red welts. Our vet has put our dog onto a couple of prescription dogs food like hills z/d but her got is worse. Have you found another grain free food that your dog is doing better on?

Aeolia
6 months ago

I have a very fussy dog who rejects just about everything except chicken necks but he is very happy with this product but I don’t feed it exclusively. Additionally one of my other dogs had itchy skin which has cleared up since he started on this. They get small amount for breakfast and normal raw meat diet for tea. Happy with the product, no problems at all.

Tammy Green
9 months ago

I have a whippet that suffers from an irritable bowel so thought this food would be good after reading reviews.
I have 2 whippets and switched both dogs onto this food and after a month I had to stop feeding them this food due to serious heath concerns with my whippet that suffers from IBS. She started to shake, pant heavily and appeared to be in alot of pain every 4 hours after eating this food. Both dogs also went from having normal stools to smelly mucusy ones. I have switched back to my old food that I was feeding them and all symptoms have stopped. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS FOOD

Edanna
9 months ago
Reply to  Tammy Green

There are specific foods that just do not work with IBS or IBD, foods often high in fat or the wrong types of fats, certain carbs as well, especially legumes due to causing a lot of gas and gas can be very painful.

I’d say it was the latter in this case, the fats used are not suitable for your dogs. I’d also use lower fat foods, around 12-14% instead. Using digestive enzymes and probiotics will help too.

Inside Out is a good probiotic with digestive enzymes, could get the 40g to try out, if it doesn’t work that’s okay cause it was only 40g.

One thing I hate the most with this food is the marketing hype, not every dog will do good on every food, they market it like this is the best food in the world.

Just because it contains hemp oil, doesn’t automatically mean it’s the best food in the world. Lots of dogs react badly to hemp oil, they remove all the bad reviews as well.

What a great company huh? load of bs like most other companies in Australia, all marketing and profit and deleting comments that don’t support them.

The food is also grossly overpriced for those ingredients. Nothing in there not even the hemp oil, is that expensive.

Hazel Foote
9 months ago
Reply to  Edanna

yup i totally agree with you my dog reacted badly to this food and I thought the reviews were amazing so I bought the 20kl bag at $190 of which i could not get a refund.

Edanna
9 months ago
Reply to  Hazel Foote

They wouldn’t refund you? what?!? that’s insane, do they think that everyone can just dish out their dollars and have plenty in reserve. I mean some live pay check to pay check, imagine them loosing $190, disastrous.

If it was human products you could report them to the ACCC I think was their name. For refusing a refund. Did you perhaps use PayPal, they might refund you, people said they do that.

Keryn
5 months ago
Reply to  Tammy Green

Hi what is your old dog food brand?

28
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x