Ivory Coat Dog Food Review

6
Ivory Coat Dog Food Review
3 Total Score
  • Meat as the main ingredient
  • Brown rice and oats are decent grains
  • Ingredients are good as a whole
WebsiteIvory Coat
Available fromPet Circle My Pet Warehouse

Ivory Coat established a loyal following as a small Australian company, but has seemingly suffered significantly since the brand was purchased by The Real Pet Food Co. We have noted numerous issues linked to Ivory Coat dog and cat food since mid-2020 and strongly advise against feeding Ivory Coat products.

In our Ivory Coat dog food review we’ll take a look at the ingredients and guaranteed analysis in an unbiased fashion, but please refer to the warning if you are feeding or considering purchasing Ivory Coat pet food products.

Comparable brands: Taste of the Wild, Canidae, Stay Loyal

⚠️ Ivory Coat warning

Ivory Coat Dog Food Review

15/09/2020 – Due to numerous consumer issues regarding Ivory Coat from The Real Pet Food Company we advise avoiding this product.

If your pet has suffered any ill effects from feeding this product please give details in the comments section below.

View our best rated list for alternative suggestions.

Please note this post by the Australian Pet Owners Group on 20th August 2021 which lists numerous incidents linked to Ivory Coat.

Our Ivory Coat dog food review from now on will remain as it was originally, for historical purposes.

Ivory Coat dog food review

Let’s take a look at the Chicken with Brown Rice formula…

The first ingredient is chicken meal, which is great to see, but we can assume the brown rice and oats to be in similar proportions, outweighing the chicken 2:1. It’s likely the peas and/or red lentils in 4th will also be a similar amount. Realistically the chicken meal could amount to 25% (or less) of the product as a whole, so not as significant as you would be inclined to believe (pretty standard for most pet foods).

Ivory Coat Dog Food Review

Brown rice and oats are good choices as far as grains go, and I wouldn’t be concerned about including these grains in a dog’s diet. Peas are good in moderation, as are lentils. I find the real problem when we feed our dogs is consistent feeding of the same product, so it’s worth considering rotating this food with something else which isn’t formulated with grains and peas. Variety is good!

The rest of the ingredients seem decent, but with a few ambiguities. Palatant is one of those ingredients which could be absolutely anything, and it still amazes me our labeling regulations allow such terminology. We can assume it is some kind of animal digest or tallow, which has a bad name across Internet forums and social media. Natural antioxidant is also ambiguous, and the simple fact they haven’t disclosed the true ingredient would mean it’s not a quality inclusion. Vitamins and minerals would be a “vitamin pack” or premix, so the cheapest possible inclusion to tick the “complete and balanced” box. We can also expect salmon oil and/or canola oil to lean more towards the canola oil as the cheaper and not as optimum inclusion.

Ivory Coat Dog Food Review

If we compare with the grain free formulas, you’ll find this one is lower protein, slightly lower fat, and approximately 10% more carbs. That makes the grain free the better option, but for additional cost. It’s still pretty good though, and we can’t knock the fact it’s more cost-effective than the grain free formulas.

Where to buy Ivory Coat dog food

Did this review help?

I’d love your thoughts and feedback, and others would to. Please comment if you have anything to add! Pet Food Reviews takes up huge amounts of my time, so if these reviews have helped you, please tell others! The small commissions from the “where to buy links” really help, so please use them! Thank you 🙂

Ivory Coat dog food ingredients

The ingredients of Ivory Coat Chicken and Rice dog food are as follows:

Chicken meal, brown rice, oats, red lentils and/or field peas, chicken oil, palatant, beet pulp, linseed, salmon oil and/or canola oil, vitamins and minerals, salt, potassium chloride, chicory root inulin, taurine, natural antioxidant, yucca schidigera extract

3 Total Score
Ivory Coat dog food review

Decent grain-based food (but we recommend you avoid Ivory Coat dog food based on the amount of negative consumer feedback)

PROS
  • Meat as the main ingredient
  • Brown rice and oats are decent grains
  • Ingredients are good as a whole
CONS
  • Less protein and fat than the Ivory Coat Grain Free formulas

1 1 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
12 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Claire
17 days ago

I changed to this food recently as it seemed to have good ingredients and I was looking for a food with higher palatability. I have two medium sized dogs, within a day of switching to the Ivory Coat Kangaroo formula, one of my dogs began vomiting every day. The other dog seemed ok. When I switched her onto a different food the vomiting stopped. The only thing that had changed was the source of dried food.

Emma
1 month ago

We lost our 6 year old Border Collie in April last year – it was only recently that a friend alerted me to the Ivory Coat issues going on throughout 2021. She presented with what we thought was another bout of gastro…but it went on and on without response to the antibiotics. She got weaker and weaker and the vets investigated for cancer and auto immune diseases and couldn’t find either….she got so weak she ended up on oxygen and we gave her, her wings about 2 weeks after the severe symptoms really hit home. In reality she had been going down hill for a few months – eating a bit less / leaving food, tiring on walks sooner. While we will never know what it really was Ivory Coat was her main source of food. I am going raw and fresh with our new puppy – not risking this over processed crap again. Do yourself a favour and follow Dr Karen Becker.

Claudia
2 months ago

I fed my kelpie puppy on the grain free puppy food, she was ok to begin with but started having diarehha, this lasted a week, I change her dry food but was still happening. Then she had some blood coming out too, she went to the vet and was put on rice and chicken and has been fine ever since. I have her on another brand of wet food now and avoid Ivory Coat

Leggett
5 months ago

After feeding my dogs for years on this, the formula has definitely changed. Do not feed your dogs this. Mine suffering with terrible bloat, constipation, lethargy.. some vomiting. Took off it for a while and all was fine, introduced it again and back to those horrible symptoms.
needless to say the rest is going in the bin.

Edanna
5 months ago
Reply to  Leggett

Hate buy outs for this exact reason. I hope that Ziwi doesn’t fall with their investor version of a buy out. I guess like every other food only time will tell.

I’m kinda disappointed with IC though as I had hoped to try it on the new pup. But now I can’t and won’t.

Bernard
6 months ago

Never used Ivory Coat until late last year when i opted for a change from others I was using. After that my dog has had numerous ultrasounds and specialist bills to find out why he’s suddenly bleeding in the urine. All came out inconclusive including an expensive specialist bill.

However I’ve been feeding my dog Ivory Coat along with his normal food from Dec last year and my dog became sick a month or so later. Didnt realise the problems until this week when I saw the articles and realised I’ve been buying Ivory Coat a few times this year too. Can’t say for sure its the food that is causing my dogs bleeding but after this news, I’m staying away from them.

Disgusted and shameful that the company hasn’t taken to publically comment on the numerous negative

Sarah
7 months ago

I used the lamb and sardine formula when I couldn’t get hold of my usual Canidae a year ago (since switched to TOTW). Gave my dog diarrhoea and upset stomach for the entire time I used it (several weeks). It’s CONSTANTLY on sale at Petstock stores over the past year so they’re really trying to push sales on it which sucks as it’s priced similar to high end kibble when it shouldn’t be.

Shayla Marie Bogert
8 months ago

Last week, we lost our sweet 5 year old bulldog. We had him on TOW with no problems and due to delivery delays had to pop to the local pet store to buy a bag while i waited for my order. We got through half a bag, and just last week I ended up taking him to emergency for constipation and vomiting, and then hours later he passed with presumed bloat. I believe this food is partly to blame. I didn’t realise at the time but when I had started him back on it he started shedding like mad and got random bald patches. His poo was hard and he struggled alot. I didn’t realise it was responsible for dehydrating him so much to the point he was straining until i read similar reports on this food. He had been on Ivory Coat years ago without issue and i am sure back then it was rated very high!!! I am shocked to see the rating now. I think they were bought our or changed formula and then we started getting stomach and skin issues so we switched. To have a food cause so much damage and death in such a short span of time, it terrifies me of what crap is in this food to have such a terrible outcome. Please dont buy this food, and any brands under the same manufacturer. RIP my sweet boy.

Edanna
8 months ago

It was bought out by The Real Pet Food Co, which is Chinese and based on foods under their management, it’s all about cost cutting. No idea what’s in the food that’s causing all these issues, but there’s definitely something in it.

What is your local store? I could maybe give you some pointers in case anything happens in the future. Of course before buying anything nowadays check the reviews and read as many of them as you can.

12
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x