Australian Dog Food Company Dog Food Review

-1
Australian Dog Food Company Dog Food Review
Review Details
Rating [nyrating]
Website Australian Dog Food Company
Country of origin Australia
Available from Manufacturer website

Australian Dog Food Company

Australian Dog Food Company

Our personal opinion of the Australian Dog Food Company and the food they sell is negative. There are a number of reasons for this which I’ll cover in a factual and observatory manner.

Since we originally wrote a review for this food on 2nd August 2016 there have been three variations of ingredients. This makes it difficult to analyse the product. We have no confidence in what the real ingredients of the product are.

On 27nd October 2016 a representative from the company notified us the ingredients listed on our review were incorrect. We had listed revision #1 of the ingredients (see the Ingredients section below). On receiving this email the company had updated the information on their website to show revision #2. This ingredient listing we saw as being suspect as it was not a formula which could be processed through a kibble extruder. The first revision listed cereal grains as the first ingredient, the second revision listed this ingredient last. Labeling standards require main ingredients to be listed in order of percentage, and you can see on revision 2 this ingredient is listed after salt.

Australian Dog Food Company Dog Food Review

Revision 2 of the ingredients was confusing, so we saw this as suspicious and deceiving to their consumer base. The fact we were contacted by the company and asked to update the review was even more suspicious. We accordingly highlighted this information on our review, and the company within days changed the information on their website yet again to another formula (revision 3).

The 3rd revision of ingredients shows the product to be largely wheat-based, which is widely regarded as a cheap inclusion and a problematic grain in terms of health and allergies.

The original product displayed a logo featuring a kangaroo and the wording “All Aussie – All Good”. Our original review highlighted the similarities of this logo compared to the official Australian Made logo. We saw this as deceiving. See the images below:

Logo from Australian Made Dog Food

Logo from Australian Made Dog Food

Official Australian Made logo, not found on this product

Official Australian Made logo

The email received from their representative on 27nd October 2016 stated they have now received Australian Made certification, which may well be the case.

Australian Dog Food Company Dog Food Review

At the time of writing this review, the Aussie Dogfood product is $135 for a 20kg bag. This is more expensive than 20kg bags from other manufacturers including Black Hawk, Canidae, and Meals for Mutts.

Good points…

Nothing worth mentioning

Bad points…

A trend of seemingly poor marketing and a variety of ingredient listings is confusing.

Guaranteed Analysis

[gauge title=”Protein” width=”210px” label=”%” value=”23″ min=”0″ max=”100″ color=”#F3832D”] [gauge title=”Fat” width=”210px” label=”%” value=”15″ min=”0″ max=”100″ color=”#F3832D”] [gauge title=”Est. Carbs” width=”210px” label=”%” value=”44″ min=”0″ max=”100″ color=”#F3832D”]

* Carbohydrates aren’t listed on pet food labels. This value is calculated based on levels of protein, fat, moisture, and ash. Estimated values for moisture and ash have been used where these values haven’t been given (moisture of 10%, and ash of 8%).

Ingredients

1st revision (at the time of our first review on 02/08/2016): Wholegrain cereals and cereal by-products, meat and meat by products (derived from beef, chicken or mutton), fats and oils (derived from beef, chicken or fish), pre and probiotic formulation, salt, vitamins and minerals, preservatives and antioxidants.

2nd revision (between first review and 06/11/2016): Meat and meat by products (derived from beef), fats and oils (derived from beef), pre and probiotic formulation, salt, vitamins and minerals, preservatives and antioxidants, wholegrain cereals and cereal by-products.

3rd revision (06/11/2016): Beef meal, ground wholegrain wheat, natural yoghurt, fats and oils (derived from beef), salt, vitamins and minerals (including vitamins A, B1, B2, B3 B5, B6, B9, B12, D3, E, H, K3), natural preservatives (including citric acid, buffered white distilled vinegar, white distilled vinegar) and herbal antioxidants (including amorphous silicon dioxide, tetrasodium pyrophosphate, vegetable oil, natural mixed tocopherols, rosemary extract, green tea extract and spearmint extract).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
10 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
whende
whende
4 years ago

I have been told we shouldn’t buy a pellet under 28% protein I would like to know what PFR opinion is on this comment Thanks

Susan
Susan
4 years ago
Reply to  whende

Hi with proteins you have to learn how to read an ingredient list cause pea, potatoes, lentils, chickpeas etc also have proteins in them, a good kibble will read something like this Buffalo, Lamb meal, Chicken meal, then sweet potatoes, peas, potatoes, canola oil, egg, roasted Bison, roasted Venison beef, natural flavour’s etc this is “Taste Of The Wild”, High Prairie Canine formula, ingredient list, just make sure the 1st 2nd 3rd ingredient is a meat followed by a meal all the proteins don’t need a meal after them as long as 2 do & 1 protein doesn’t, does that make sense?? When they write the ingredient list it’s done when the ingredients are raw so after being cooked everything shrinks & moves to a different spot on the ingredient list, Follow “Rodney Habib” the Pet Nutrition Blogger on his F/B page he has really good videos showing you how kibble companies try to con us, what not to feed dogs ‘How Rawhide is made, How by adding 2 spoons of fresh food to a dogs bowl of kibble reduces their chances of getting cancer..
If you just see chicken on an ingredient list then when you cook a chicken it shrinks, all protein shrink but a protein meal is cooked & grounded meal so ur getting 300% more this food “Australian Dog Food” is crap read the ingredient list now compare to the TOTW High Prairie formula, you see good protein & good vegetables no wheat, no fats & oil derived from beef, then citric acid & vinegar poor dogs stomach after eating this food supermarket foods have better ingredients, you always need to have the name of the protein, Lamb Meal, the name of the fat eg-chicken fat, if you see meat by products then you don’t know what type of meat is being used & its the byproduct of the animal, if you have a low budget then “Natures Goodness VIP grain free is a good supermarket choice if you can afford a bit more then Applaws it’s All Good or Farmers Market Beef…..Rotating between 2-3 different brands is best, this way your dog is getting a variety & chances are he’s getting a more balanced diet then just eating the same kibble 24/7 buy when they are on special Applaws is always on special, if it isn’t in Coles then it is at Woolworths or if you have the money shop online & look at TOTW, Canidae Pure, Meals For Mutts, Ziwi Peak Air Dried Raw, Frontier Pets freeze dried raw, if you live near “Costco” then Kirkland Signature Domain its made by TOTW & 1/2 the price…. if you can afford raw then fed a raw balanced diet & maybe some kibble as a snack..

whende
whende
4 years ago
Reply to  Susan

Thanks Susan, I was actually feeding Ivory Coat OF & S. Im now trying Stay Loyal. 50% of my dogs diet is raw red and white meat, sardines, yoghurt. 50% pellets. Thanks and sorry for the delay. I also have used TOTW to mix it up a bit but I’m just going I type of pellet atm.

Maija K
Maija K
4 years ago

It says in “Our Story” also that it was originally (still?) made by John Goold, a former player for Carlton. Do you know if that’s true? :-/

Maija K
Maija K
4 years ago

On the website it says “Feeding your dog with the Aussie Dog SECRET PRE & PRO BIOTIC DRY DOG FOOD RECIPE ‘should’ make the stool collection job easier and less smelly, improve your dog’s coat, breath and skin, reduce the effects of lawn burn and carpet stains.”

Why would they say reduced effects of carpet stains?! Who willingly lets their dog poop on the carpet and thinks, “you know what’ll stop it, new dog food!” Realistically you’d use stain remover and training… What even??! haha

pagarama
pagarama
4 years ago

Thanks for this! That’s dodgy! Don’t suppose you can tell us their website so we know what to avoid? In any case, it’s telling when the first 2 ingredients are vague and non-specific. Thanks again, and keep up the great work!

Hillary Mansour
Hillary Mansour
4 years ago

This is the best dog food I’ve ever eaten! What are you on about?!

But in all seriousness this seems unrealistic and over the top… Are you sure you’ve tried the right product? I’m interested in finding out both sides of this… are your posts peer reviewed?

Best, Hillary 🙂

Amateria
Amateria
4 years ago

Personally and this is strictly my opinion as lately people seem to do a lot of criticising of opinions just because the person does not agree with them, however at the end of the day that’s kind of what makes up unique, imagine how boring the world would be if we all agreed on everything.

Anyways if I were to feed this food to let’s say stray dogs or cats, I would rather drive down to a pet stock and buy Totw and feed them that instead, that way they get up to 5 different meats of excellent quality, no unecessary grain fillers (specially for cats) and a wide variety of other useful ingredients, as opposed to this garbage can.

Half of the ingredients don’t even mention a source, what preservatives? Could be bha, bht and ethoxyquin for all we know, cancer here we come!
Want to add some synthetic vitamin K into that mix for liver failure? I mean why not right? Why should any of us be healthy? Doesn’t being sick day in and day out just feel awesome? I really don’t think it does as out of a week I am usually some kind of sick everyday and no it’s not fun at all.

Susan
Susan
4 years ago

Read the ingredients, a kibble should not start with a cereal & have meat by product meats, & it has preservatives 🙁 do your research please, poor dogs that eat this kibble, a good premium kibble should have at least 2-4 proteins as the 1st 2nd 3rd & 4th ingredient if your lucky, ingredient list should read, Lamb, lamb meal, chicken meal, Duck meal, it should say what protein is in the kibble, not say meat by product it could be any type of rotten by product meats that’s not fit for human consumption, then after the proteins it should be a good carb like sweet potatoes, peas etc

Pet Food Reviews
Pet Food Reviews
4 years ago
Reply to  Susan

All kibbles need a binder. If this food is meats, fats, and oils it wouldn’t be kibble, it would be slop

10
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x