Whiskas Cat Food Review

2
Whiskas Cat Food Review
2 Total Score
WebsiteWhiskas
Available fromPet Circle My Pet Warehouse

Whiskas has to be the most well known brand of cat food. It’s been around for ever. But is it any good? Read on to find out…

This review is for the Beef & Lamb Flavour recipe, but the other dry foods in the range are formulated exactly the same – go on, take a look! So even before we look at the ingredients we’ve discovered our first marketing trick. They’re not selling different recipes, they’re selling the same recipe in different bags, just with a different flavouring sachet.

Whiskas Cat Food Review

Let’s consider cats for a moment. In the simplest of terms, cats are carnivores, their diet should be meat. The Number 1 ingredient in Whiskas is wholegrain cereals. What? We’ve fallen at the first hurdle! There’s a single factual reason why a cat food manufacturer would sell a diet comprised mostly of cereal grains, and that’s profit. It’s not for the well being of your much loved pet. They’re putting profit before your pet, which doesn’t sound very ethical does it?

A cereal diet is rubbish for a cat. Their digestive system is designed to digest meats, not grains. Even as far as grains go this isn’t a decent ingredient. They don’t state what type of cereals, so I pretty much guarantee it will be a mixture of dirt cheap grains like wheat, corn, sorghum, and rice. Waste products.

Thankfully we find a meat ingredient in the Number 2 spot, but it’s not decent meat. It’s meat from a rendering plant. What we’re looking at here is minced up “animals” sold as cheap slop. Quality control isn’t a factor here, so we find anything from diseased animals (tumours intact) to waste meat from other industries to roadkill. Again, profit is the only reason for this ingredient.

Next up we find another cereal ingredient, cereal protein. The protein percentage of the food is 26% which is low for a cat food, and the presence of this ingredient shows they’re hiding a lack of quality meat proteins with a protein source your cat can’t digest.

Whiskas Cat Food Review

Poultry digest is another product from the rendering plant. It’s a broth that comes off the animals when they’re cooked up. It’s nasty stuff, but will otherwise give a bland tasting cereal food some flavour.

I’ll finish this review by mentioning the last ingredient on your list. Question yourself, why would your cat care about food colourings?

This is a lousy food low in protein, high in carbs, and low in anything worthwhile.

More reviews

We need your help!

As a free resource on a mission to promote healthier pet foods we depend on you guys to spread the word. If you choose to buy pet food then we get a small commission if you use our recommended retailers, or if you have a website or blog yourself it would be fantastic if you reference us! Thank you 🙂

Ingredients

Wholegrain cereals; meat & meat by-products (poultry, beef, lamb and/or pork); cereal protein; poultry digest; all essential vitamins and minerals; amino acids (including taurine); flavours; antioxidants and colours.

2 Total Score
Terrible

CONS
  • Cereals
  • Food colourings
  • Ambiguous antioxidants
  • Low protein and fat
  • High carbohydrates

5 1 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
9 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jayson Black
Jayson Black
1 month ago

Flavoring Sachet?

I wish this site was around many years ago, like 10 to 15 years ago. But it just so happens that our cats just recently refused to eat whiskers. They had been eating whiskers most of their life. Whiskers must have changed ingredients or something coz all of a sudden the cats just wouldn’t touch it. They still eat their whiskers wet food though depending on what the wet food reviews are like I might not get it for them any more and switch to something else. I now get them a brad called “Crave” but I honestly don’t know how good it is. Hopefully there will be a review of that brand here. Good Luck All!

Edanna
Edanna
1 month ago
Reply to  Jayson Black

Well think about it this way, our version of Crave is the worst in the world. The UK has the best ingredient list, than US, than us dead last. Ours is extremely non descriptive, you have zero idea what your feeding.

Also I’ve been researching dog-cat food, supplements, health etc for 10 years and Pet Food Reviews already existed back than. So he’s been around a lot longer than you think.

Deb
Deb
4 years ago

Thank you so much for all the reviews! It was so far trying to find reviews based on what we have in Australia (heaps on internet are based on US). Definitely helped me deciding which brand to switch to for my cat (A ragdoll, and I was told to ONLY feed breed specific Royal Canin dry kibbles)

I am also trying to find good wet food so really hoping in the future you will do some wet food reviews! (At the moment I am feeding my cat Weruva Cats in the kitchen range)

Just out of curiosity, since this review mentioned how bad cereal is, I would assume it is equally bad if it’s present in wet food? (e.g Fancy Feast) I used Fancy Feast initially to help the transition from dry food to wet food and it was recommended by friends (Easily obtainable + cheap). Now I am trying to convince them to switch to healthier wet food but they just won’t budge.

Amateria
Amateria
4 years ago
Reply to  Deb

Based off of a guy on dog food advisor who did quiet a lot of research regarding the breed specific and/or prescription diets, he found that the ingredients lists were virtually the same, only the order of the ingredients was different and this made it impossible for the normal pet parent to notice and realise that there is nothing specific about the food and that at the end of the day it’s just overpriced garbage.

He had some quiet interesting facts and discussions it was sad to see him no longer comment, whatever the reason for that may have been.

Generally anything cheap will be trash at the end of the day, with the way cats are they don’t have any need for carb sources like cereals and grains, they don’t even have use for veges or fruits being obligate carnivores but a lot of foods like to fill in the gaps with useless junk to make it super cheap so they can sell it to you for a premium and make a hell of a lot of profit.

Have to be careful with certain wording as well as some food can have as little as 4% meat or no meat at all, usually these are named chicken flavour, but I’ve noticed some foods that used the term and contained full on meat amounts, it’s very confusing indeed.

Pet Food Reviews
Pet Food Reviews
4 years ago
Reply to  Deb

Cats don’t need carbs, period, they’re obligate carnivores. The only reason cereal grains are included in cat foods is to increase profit margins. One of the reasons a food such as Fancy Feast is cheap.

Royal Canin have an excellent marketing model as they’re the only company offering breed-specific foods, but it doesn’t necessarily mean they’re offering the best food for any breed, it’s mostly just marketing. A lot of the foods are mostly corn (they list it as maize), and marginally tweaked to breed-specific needs, whereas other “generic breed” foods still offer the same nutrition.

The Weruva wet foods are pretty good, especially when you mix and match (i.e. some have liver, eggs, etc). Wet foods are generally better than dry foods and use better quality meats. I’ll have to review wet foods at some stage, just a case of finding the time…!

Caitlyn
Caitlyn
6 years ago

Thank you for this! All the rescues in our area recommend it so I wondered if there was something I wasn’t seeing!

rose d
rose d
5 years ago
Reply to  Caitlyn

@Caitlyn: I’ve even seen some vets reccommend it! When my cat was having allergy and hayfever problems, the vet asked what food I was on, and I told her I’d switched to Black Hawk Grain-free due to her allergies. She looked at me puzzled and said, “Oh, I’ve never heard of that stuff. You should stick to something like Whiskas. It’s more well known.”

I almost laughed in her face. Yeah right, lady! I’m not going to give my grain-allergic cat a food that is nothing but grains. Ugh >_>

Karen Strickland
Karen Strickland
6 years ago

Hi I just read the breakdown on Whiskers dry food.Absolutely shocking. Is that the same for the Whiskers wet food. Do you have a guide on that as well. Thankyou.

9
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x