Purina Beyond Dog Food Review

7
Purina Beyond Dog Food Review
7.3 Total Score
  • Decent meat content
  • Barley and oats as better grains
WebsitePurina Beyond
Available fromPet Circle

If you’ve read my other Purina reviews you’ll know I’m not a fan, but Purina Beyond is actually pretty good. I feel they’ve actually considered the nutritional requirements of a dog before calculating their profit margins. This food is available in Woolworths for a reasonable price so it’s a good choice for those who can’t afford the premium brands we find in pet stores.

Purina Beyond Dog Food Review

Let’s take a look at the Chicken & Whole Barley formula…

The first ingredient is chicken. Fab! The second ingredient is chicken meal. Also fab! This solidifies chicken as the main ingredient in the food, and when it comes to supermarket brands this really is good to see.

Next up we find grains. If you’re already thinking grain is a no no then hold your horses, it’s not a bad thing, Barley and Oats are definitely two of the best grain inclusions, providing a slow burning source of energy and aiding digestive health.

We find rice (we’re talking white rice) as the third grain. This is making the food very carb heavy – we can estimate approximately 42% carbs. Dogs are predominantly carnivores and excessive carbs can be damaging to a dog.

The vitamins and minerals aren’t disclosed, so we can assume they’re not the best possible inclusions.

Purina Beyond Dog Food Review

The food as a whole is good. It has more meat than most supermarket offerings, and the selection of grains is far better than corn and sorghum we find making up the bulk of most foods. It’s worth considering the amount of carbs, and perhaps supplementing the food with fresh raw meats (also available from Woolworths, and often reduced!). You can also mix the food with another more meatier brand to even things out.

Did this review help?

I’d love your thoughts and feedback, and others would to. Please comment if you have anything to add! Pet Food Reviews takes up huge amounts of my time, so if these reviews have helped you, please tell others! The small commissions from the “where to buy links” really help, so please use them! Thank you 🙂

Ingredients

Chicken, chicken meal, whole barley, oats, rice, poultry oil, pea protein, vitamins, minerals and amino acids, liver flavour, dried carrots.

7.3 Total Score
Probably the best Purina offering

PROS
  • Decent meat content
  • Barley and oats as better grains

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
8 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Veronika
4 years ago

We are currently in Batemans Bay and the Woolworths here has this food for $17 and not even one bag was missing, so in essence no one is buying it and it’s likely going to be similar to Applaws.
There’s just too many foods to be honest and were not even the worst America has what 400 different brands?
It’s no wonder some are selling out, they ain’t making near enough money because people prefer other cheaper brands.

I saw a rumour on Facebook that Champion Foods might actually sell out to Mars, it’s just a rep rumour for now but who knows.

Susan
4 years ago
Reply to  Veronika

Hi,last night I was reading on DFA the Orijen dog food – (USA) reviews section, Campion was sold 2 years ago to Bedford Capital….

Veronika
4 years ago
Reply to  Susan

It looks like their a funding business or something at least their not Mars or Purina like ugh everyone will eventually join Purina I’m swearing by it thanks to what I see going on around me.
Eventually it’s going to be no kibble ever just freeze dried or raw or cooked.
Because everyone will be so untrustworthy you won’t buy their foods.

Veronika
4 years ago

Is this really our ingredient list? I’ve seen the American one its this : Chicken, Brewers Rice, Whole Barley, Canola Meal, Chicken Meal (Natural Source of Glucosamine), Beef Fat Preserved with Mixed-Tocopherols, Natural Liver Flavor, Dried Egg Product, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Dried Carrots, Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin E Supplement, Choline Chloride, Zinc Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, Niacin, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Copper Sulfate, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin B-12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D-3 Supplement, Calcium Iodate, Biotin, Menadione Sodium Bisulfite Complex (Source of Vitamin K Activity), Sodium Selenite. D-4280

Which would mean we have better ingredients.

Pet Food Reviews
4 years ago
Reply to  Veronika
Veronika
4 years ago

It’s likely the vitamin/mineral pack is the same but seriously hot damn are they listening to us here in Australia we sure are making a difference! Hopefully the rest of the world follows suit in given time.
Facebook is a great place to be these days I’m glad I made an account for it recently, so much tasty new info and that Evangers trying to donate recalled food just shows you how scummy they really are and anyone who was defending them has hopefully stopped.

Susan
4 years ago
Reply to  Veronika

I spoke with the Purina vet Nutritionist after Patch was sick I asked her, are we going to get the Purina Beyond Grain Free formula’s what they have in America?? she said if the Purina Beyond formula’s take off here we will get the Australian made Grain free Beyond formula’s, I’ve been looking in Woolworths & the Purina Beyond aren’t selling, someone bought 1 x Lamb & Barley bag 1 week ago & that space is still empty & the rest of the formulas are still packed tightly & stuff into the small spot on the shelf…the regular price is $18 you can add an extra $2 & go online & get Canidae or Meals For Mutts or another brand that’s on special for $20 that’s grain free & has no Barley…..

Veronika
4 years ago
Reply to  Susan

Yeah I know, I’ve even done the math for a friend of mine telling her she’s better off feeding Blackhawk as its only about 5 to 10 cents more expensive per 100g than Optimum and of course you get the perks of a healthier dog, bigger bag and home delivered.

I’ll need to ask her again soon if she ever changed to Blackhawk or not, it’s likely she’s been too preoccupied lately, if she gave me her entire address I could buy it for her and have it shipped out to her instead if she prefers.

I’m also pretty sure Batemans Bay has a pet shop with Blackhawk she could easily go there, she’s spoiled for choice really, it’s up to her now to choose what she wants to do.

On topic though unless you do the math yourself and point it out to people, they are very unlikely to change their opinions over pricing and very unlikely to see the difference is super minimal.

8
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x