Healthy Everyday Pets Cat Food Review

24
Healthy Everyday Pets Cat Food Review
9.5 Total Score
  • Lots of meat
  • High protein/High fat/Low carbohydrate
  • Really good ingredients all round
WebsiteHealthy Everyday Pets
Available fromPet Circle

There’s something unique about Healthy Everyday Pets cat and dog foods. When you open the bag it actually has the distinctive odour of meat, something which is very uncommon with commercial pet foods. The reason for this is, unlike many, this cat food is actually made mostly from meat. Continue on with our Healthy Everyday Pets cat food review to find out why this is far more species appropriate than the rubbish many cat owners feed…

Healthy Everyday Pets Cat Food Review

On the Healthy Everyday Pets website they state this food has the highest protein and lowest carbohydrates of any Australian dry food, which is excellent given cats are obligate carnivores. 82% of protein comes from meat sources, and the food as a whole has 20% carbohydrates which is much less than other cat foods. Given the cost of meat ingredients it really goes to show how much they’re pushing for a species appropriate cat food despite reducing profit margins. Or in other words, Healthy Everyday Pets are doing the right thing by your cat, not their pockets.

Healthy Everyday Pets Cat Food Review

The two main ingredients which amount to most of the food are chicken meal and turkey meal, and we also find duck meal in the top 5 ingredients. These protein-rich bio-digestible meat ingredients are what your cat needs. We find another animal ingredient in the 6th spot which is chicken oil (the fat constituent), and the 7th ingredient as marine fish oil will do it’s bit in maintaining your cat’s wellbeing, skin, and coat.

I’ll skip back to the 3rd and 4th ingredients which are chickpea flour and tapioca. Chick pea is included in this cat food to balance the calcium from the meat meals to ensure AAFCO compliance, and tapioca is a good choice of kibble binder (to ensure it doesn’t crumble). Many pet foods ramp up ingredients such as these to keep costs down, so it’s really great to see that isn’t the case with this food.

Healthy Everyday Pets Cat Food Review

There are some really nice smaller inclusions in the food. Coconut oil is great for healthy skin, joints, and should help with cats prone to hairballs, as are the wonderful green lipped mussels which will help prevent arthritis as well as being an excellent source of omega fats. Turmeric is included as an anti-carcinogenic, and it’s good to see rosemary as a natural antioxidant.

All in all, Healthy Everyday Pets cat food is a very good choice for your furry companion!

Where to buy Healthy Everyday Pets Cat Food

Did this review help?

I’d love your thoughts and feedback, and others would to. Please comment if you have anything to add! Pet Food Reviews takes up huge amounts of my time, so if these reviews have helped you, please tell others! The small commissions from the “where to buy links” really help, so please use them! Thank you 🙂

Healthy Everyday Pets Ingredients

Ingredients of Healthy Everyday Pets Poultry dry cat food as of July 2021:

Chicken Meal, Turkey Meal, Chick Pea Flour, Tapioca, Duck Meal, Chicken Oil, Marine Fish Oil, Apple, Kelp, Vitamin and Trace Mineral Premix, Whole Egg, Cellulose Powder, Algae Extract, Virgin Coconut Oil, Choline Chloride, Sea Salt, Potassium Chloride, Natural Flavours, Fructo-oligosaccarides, Mixed tocopherols and, Rosemary, Turmeric, Green Lipped Mussel, Organic Acids and Black Pepper.

Healthy Everyday Pets Guaranteed Analysis

Guaranteed analysis of Healthy Everyday Pets Poultry dry cat food as of July 2021:

Protein(min) 40%
Fat(min) 20%
Crude Fibre(max) 3.5%
Carbohydrates *(max) 20% (stated on label)
* May be estimated. Read how to calculate carbohydrates in a pet food.
9.5 Total Score
Healthy Everyday Pets Cat Food Review

Closer to a native feline diet than most dry foods

PROS
  • Lots of meat
  • High protein/High fat/Low carbohydrate
  • Really good ingredients all round

4 5 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
31 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Cheyenne
1 month ago

Hi can I feed this food to a kitten?

Julie
3 months ago

Thanks so much for providing this review. I adopted a six year old Ragdoll with no teeth a month ago or so. Like so many others I have had her on royal canin and hills wet food but after reading your reviews…. I am looking to change her diet.

All of the highest scoring cat foods I have looked at so far seem to not make wet food. Is that right? I am a tad lost how to navigate the wet food only foods for my gummy girl.

Hoping you can help point me in the right direction.

julie smith
3 months ago

I was looking at online options. Thanks for responding and suggestions.

Sheryl
3 months ago

Is Healthy Everyday dry food good for cats over the age of 12 or are there specific good quality dry and wet foods for senior cats?

Last edited 3 months ago by Sheryl
Lee-Gwen
5 months ago

When we adopted our cats, they came with Royal Canin – and that’s what I’d bought, too. They love it and Hills, but I was less impressed when I read the reviews here. I’m in the process of transitioning them to Healthy Every Day Pets. The cats aren’t happy about it, but we’re getting there.

Edanna
5 months ago
Reply to  Lee-Gwen

It’ll be tough, due to RC spraying their foods with what I call msg oil lol. But you’ll get to that point eventually. Good on ya for finding this place and changing though.

RC and Hills don’t believe cats are carnivores. If they did they’d sell species appropriate foods, but they don’t.

Cats being the way they are also require moisture from their diet. So I’d add some sort of wet food as well. To ensure no blockages occur or crystals form.

Last edited 5 months ago by Edanna
David
6 months ago

How does Nood cat dry food compare to this?

Edanna
6 months ago

Wouldn’t that title go to Orijen? unless you mean Australia only foods.

I use the cat Orijen, they used to love it more than they do now. I think there’s just too much variety, I opened so many bags.

I need to go back to 3x foods to choose from, I’m currently on like 7. They’d rather eat other things than their food as the smell of every food mixed together is likely very overwhelming.

Well maybe that’s the issue who really knows what the real one is. But yeah I need to settle down with the opening of the bags.

Sumaya Race
12 days ago
Reply to  Edanna

Orijen just put their prices up!!!!! $76.95 for 1.8kg of Regional Red and $69.95 for the other flavours! Ridiculous!

Edanna
10 days ago
Reply to  Sumaya Race

I was getting the 340g for $15, so it was never really expensive for me. The food lasted a minimum of 1 month. But anyone buying the kilo plus bags is going to feel the increase. I reckon that the small amount of customers they had, just got much smaller. Even small rises in price put the price out of range for most.

Cooked it’s not even 85% meat cause that’s before it’s cooked. Once you cook the water out of the meat and fish the percentage drops to like 40%. Each ingredient is around 5% for the meats and fish, honestly the food doesn’t feel like it’s worth the price once you really look into the percentages.

I’m not a fan of grain free anymore though, realised my girl does better on grain. So until we get the grained formulas, no more Orijen in this house.

Last edited 10 days ago by Edanna
Sue
6 months ago

Does it contain taurine?

Sue
6 months ago

Thanks!

Edanna
7 months ago

With all their new recipes, I wonder if perhaps they never upgraded the analysis. I’ve gone over it many times, I have zero clue how they get the carbs so low. It honestly just doesn’t make any sense.

If the kibble was soft/cold pressed etc, I could, cause the moisture would be higher. But as it stands to make the carbs as low as they are is impossible with the analysis as it is.

Okay with this cat version it is possible, I mean I got 22%, but one or more of the other versions, doesn’t make sense.

Getting 32% on the puppy, analysis says maximum 20%. Going over them, 99% don’t make any sense. How are the percentages the same across most of the range as well? Athlete 12% carbs, I got 26%.

Somethings just not adding up here.

Last edited 7 months ago by Edanna
Edanna
7 months ago

Right, they are minimums, I forgot about that. Typically the ash is usually 8% and moisture from 8-12%. I usually just do 8 and 10 though.

CWHT
7 months ago

Hi – Fantastic review. Just a couple of questions:

What are your thoughts on Pete Evans being one of the founders of this brand? Its pretty established that he’s a bit of a nut job with his ‘pseudoscience’ facts, but has this affected the generation for this recipe / the marketing of this cat food? could we have just been fooled again into purchasing his snake oil once again?

I bring this up as their website has now plastered this review all over theirs as if it’s like they’ve just had a PR nightmare and now scrambling to cover their mistakes? (also would like to note- the name Pete Evans is now no longer anywhere on the website) – all seems a little suspicious to me..?

I would also like to bring to query the now adjusted guaranteed analysis as of Oct 2021:

  • Crude Protein (min%): 40
  • Crude Fat (min%): 20
  • Crude Fibre (max%): 4
  • Total Carbohydrates (%): 20
  • Metabolisable Energy kcal/kg: Minimum 4,000
  • Total Ash (max%): 8

I’m a little illiterate when it comes to these itemized analyses… so would HealthyEverydayPets still be the best bet to go for even with the adjusted analysis, and would it still be worthwhile to adjust my cat’s diet to this despite the controversy in one of the founders of this brand?

Please let me know your thoughts!

Thanks!

Edanna
7 months ago
Reply to  CWHT

He posted to his Facebook what everyone believed was a neo nazi cartoon, after this stunt whether deliberate or he simply really didn’t know.

He was removed from literally every single thing he was a part of or to be a part of. This of course included this food, that is why he is gone from it.

Personally I looked at the cartoon and agreed with it, not realising in the least that it was anything neo nazi. So it was to me anyways a very easy thing to misunderstand.

In all honesty I reckon he was like me, he had no idea what it really meant. I guess now he’s got the lesson to check everything before posting.

Edanna
7 months ago

Yes unfortunately opinion isn’t a thing people like these days, with anything really. Even Covid has it’s issues with this, there is either pro vax or anti vax, there is no longer any in between’s. If your pro choice your a nut job now. It’s a sad world we’re heading into.

I found a lot of the stuff I saw to do with him as pretty good, I was looking at some supplements as I do from time to time from every brand. They looked incredibly natural and healthy. The thing we all want supplements to be honestly. In fact anything really.

Nic
1 year ago

We are very happy with this cat food, however we are having trouble buying it. While some may not like Pete Evans for speaking his mind, the fact is this is a great food for your cat. Pete’s knowledge of nutrition is amazing. Hopefully we can find a supplier as my cats love this food. They are healthy with shiny coats.

Jimmy
10 months ago

but 2% salt would be too high that would put cat on the risky of kidney disease. Cats dont need so much salt.

catlogic
7 months ago

Hi, I’m looking for food to help my cat lose weight. She’s been on the Hill’s Metabolic (my vet’s recommendation) for months and has gained weight! She’s an indoor cat, about four years old. Would the Healthy Everyday Pets be suitable for her?

Edanna
7 months ago
Reply to  catlogic

Cats are obligate carnivores which means high carb diets go undigested by them and they gain weight off them. The lower carb you go the better, this food may help, as the carbs are much lower than in the Hills.

I’d also get your cat onto a wet food to help with hydration and reducing the chance of crystal formation and organ problems later down the track.

Cats only really need meat/organs and some bone, they have zero use for carbohydrates. Look into Orijen and possibly Acana too from Very Pet. Buy the smallest 340g bag to sample if your cat likes the food or not.

I’d also like to add that changing a cats diet can be very problematic, as they are imprint eaters. If they’ve never had a food like this before they may not want it or understand it’s actual food.

You may have to look online how to switch foods if she ends up not wanting it. It can be an unfortunately lengthy process. Good luck.

catlogic
7 months ago
Reply to  Edanna

Thank you!

31
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x