Orijen Dog Food Review

38
Orijen Dog Food Review
9.7 Total Score
  • Well considered canine diet
  • Lots of meat and fish
  • Whole prey
  • Excellent ingredients throughout
WebsiteOrijen
Available fromPet Circle My Pet Warehouse VeryPet

Orijen has a very loyal following. Manufacturer Champion Petfoods (who also make Acana) consider their facilities “the most technologically advanced pet food kitchens on Earth”. For our Orijen dog food review we’ll take a good look at all aspects of the food, and explain why it’s one of the best dry dog foods available in Australia.

Orijen Review

It’s easy to understand why Orijen has such a loyal following – the ingredients are fantastic. It also boasts one of the highest protein percentages of any dry pet food, and one of the lowest amounts of carbohydrates (the stuff that turns to sugars).

Orijen dog food review

For this review we’ll delve into the ingredients of Orijen Original as a benchmark for all in the range. It’s actually one of the easiest reviews to write, as the ingredients speak for themselves:

Fresh chicken meat (13%), fresh turkey meat (7%), fresh cage-free eggs (7%), fresh chicken liver (6%), fresh whole herring (6%), fresh whole flounder (5%), fresh turkey liver (5%), fresh chicken necks (4%), fresh chicken heart (4%), fresh turkey heart (4%), chicken (dehydrated, 4%), turkey (dehydrated, 4%), whole mackerel (dehydrated, 4%), whole sardine (dehydrated, 4%), whole herring (dehydrated, 4%)… drool!

It’s great to see such a focus on meat and fish, which is an ironic oddity in the pet food industry given dog’s are essentially carnivores. It’s also a rarity to see transparency with percentages of each ingredient. The above listed meat and fish amounts to 77% of the food!

Another wonderful fact about Orijen is they use whole prey. That means chicken is the whole chicken, inclusive of organs, just without the bones. This is so much better than many pet foods where the “chicken” content is whatever can’t be sold for human consumption (or in laymans terms – mostly carcass).

Orijen Dog Food Review

I task you to find another dry dog food in Australia which boasts such an incredible ingredients list. I don’t think you will. Meat, fish, and eggs amounts to 85% of the product, 15% vegetables, fruits, and botanicals, and 0% grains, potato, tapioca, or any other fillers. If all dog foods had ingredients like this we’d likely have a wonderfully healthy dog population.

The range of lentils, beans, peas, and chickpeas would make a vegan salivate, and the plethora of fruits and vegetables would put a farmers market to shame.

There are no artificial substances, antioxidants, or preservatives in the product. It’s simply all good. Brilliant. Orijen dog food is absolutely, undeniably, highly recommended.

If our Orijen dog food review has helped, or if you feed this food, then make sure to leave a comment below!

Where to buy Orijen

Must watch video!

The following video provides an overview of the Champion Petfoods facility where Orijen and Acana are made, highlighting the level of standards and safety of production:

Orijen Ingredients

The ingredients of Orijen Original dry dog food is as follows:

Fresh chicken meat (13%), fresh turkey meat (7%), fresh cage-free eggs (7%), fresh chicken liver (6%), fresh whole herring (6%), fresh whole flounder (5%), fresh turkey liver (5%), fresh chicken necks (4%), fresh chicken heart (4%), fresh turkey heart (4%), chicken (dehydrated, 4%), turkey (dehydrated, 4%), whole mackerel (dehydrated, 4%), whole sardine (dehydrated, 4%), whole herring (dehydrated, 4%), whole red lentils, whole green lentils, whole green peas, lentil fibre, whole chickpeas, whole yellow peas, whole pinto beans, whole navy beans, herring oil (1%), chicken fat (1%), chicken cartilage (1%), chicken liver (freeze-dried), turkey liver (freeze-dried), fresh whole pumpkin, fresh whole butternut squash, fresh whole zucchini, fresh whole parsnips, fresh carrots, fresh whole Red Delicious apples, fresh whole Bartlett pears, fresh kale, fresh spinach, fresh beet greens, fresh turnip greens, brown kelp, whole cranberries, whole blueberries, whole Saskatoon berries, chicory root, turmeric root, milk thistle, burdock root, lavender, marshmallow root, rosehips. ADDITIVES (per kg): Nutritional additives: Zinc chelate: 100 mg. Enterococcus faecium. NCIMB10415: 600×10^6 CFU.  

Orijen Guaranteed Analysis

The guaranteed analysis of Orijen Original dry dog food is as follows:

Protein38%
Fat18%
Crude Fibre4%
Carbohydrates *Estimated 24%
* May be estimated. Read how to calculate carbohydrates in a pet food.

9.7 Total Score
Pushing the boundaries of dry food

PROS
  • Well considered canine diet
  • Lots of meat and fish
  • Whole prey
  • Excellent ingredients throughout

5 1 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
28 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Adrian
1 month ago

How come all foods are available only at Pet Circle or Pet Warehouse? Is this a sponsored review program?

Mel
1 month ago

Hi, My 13 year old mixed breed (was a RSPCA pup, small to medium terrier cross, maybe border terrier cross) has been fed Black Hawk Chicken & Rice kibble most of his life, after an early change to this after digestive issues. Just recently his age is catching up with him and gaining weight and the vet suggested switching to a “seniors” formula with either Royal Canin or Hills Science Diet. But reading your reviews here, that seems like a bad idea. Would the Orijen or any of the other “top rated” dry kibbles here be suitable for his age and size (weighs around 12-13kg)? He has also has some dental issues in the past few years, with 2 teeth extractions over the past 3 years (first was a broken tooth we think was due to chewing on a palm tree nut, the latest we think due to discovering an old bone from the former owners of this house). We don’t give him bones anymore because of this, and just dried chew treats. What would you recommend we move him to for dry kibble?

Last edited 1 month ago by Mel
Edanna
1 month ago
Reply to  Mel

I like Cherish Senior it’s a very well thought out food, with many benefits. Have you tried chicken wings, carcasses or necks? might be a better option to heavier more dense bones. Kangaroo tendons are known to be the number 1 best dried chew for dental.

I don’t think many brands are inherently bad, it’s best to just use them on rotation. Don’t feed them just that brand forever, but change either every bag if your dogs stomach allows it or change every couple of bags.

Royal Canin has it’s uses, I find mine are less gassy on it, their anal glands don’t seem to be causing issues anymore and my girls bloated tummy is less. However I mix feed so some days it doesn’t get eaten and it’s noticeable.

I never thought I’d try it due to the ingredients, but I’m glad I gave it a go. The dogs love it and the promises of better digestive health are a nice reprieve for my girl. Because she doesn’t require as many doses of her supplements now. Before I was stuck giving her the stuff 5 times a week. Now it’s back down to once a week.

True Colours is another favourite of mine. Orijen is great too, but for your pup it would need to be the fit and trim as it’s quiet fattening otherwise. Feed for Thought is good but due to it’s rather rare ingredient for now anyways, it’s extremely expensive.

I don’t think we have the senior Nutrience or that would be good too. Instinctive Bite (not the salmon, really bad reviews) is good. Talentail a new brand might be good too. Heart and Soul might be good. I don’t remember the fat percentage of the last 2 though. Essentially you don’t want to go above 14% fat.

Dany
1 month ago

Hello,

I would like to point out that this is not a preservative-free dog food as you claim. In their ingredient list, they specifically say 2 preservative ingredients: Citric Acid & Mixed Tocopherols.

I feed my 2 fur babies Ziwi Peak and K9 Natural and was looking for more options in premium dog food. I see that you rate Orijen, Frontier and Lyka higher than the Ziwi Peak or K9 Natural. Are they really better? I need advice on which to get. I am not looking at the price. I rather pay now and have them healthy than later pay for vet bills and them to suffer from all sorts of health issues that would be caused by the wrong diet. I am looking for quality and high nutrition including high omega 3.

Can you recommend what else I could try that would meet the above-mentioned criteria, please?

Thank you 🙂

Dany
1 month ago

Thank you for your response. 🙂

I have ordered the Orijen in Small Dog and Six Fish; Frontier bundle pack and also their Tripe and Chicken treats. Will give it a go and see.

I have to say that the Orijen kibble looks, smells and tastes very good to my doggies.. no complaints…

The only worry that I have with Orijen is that it is kibble and that means that its nutritional value won’t be as high as those of freeze-dried or air-dried foods. I actually found that Orijen makes freeze-dried food and treats as well, yet they don’t sell them in Australia.. 🙁 Wonder why though…

Last edited 1 month ago by Dany
Edanna
1 month ago
Reply to  Dany

Orijen is cooked at a much lower temperature though, so it’s nutritional value goes way beyond most kibbles regardless.

Most overseas companies only bring 1 type of food to our shores. Despite having a multitude of different foods on offer. Sometimes maybe it’s just that the foods don’t sell well enough to bother bringing any more here.

Sometimes it’s a customs thing, where the food doesn’t meet our standards or something and isn’t allowed into the country until it does. This means they’d have to change the ingredients or do something to it, that perhaps they don’t want to do.

A lot of brands were meant to come here, some said they would by this “time” but never actually did. I reckon they got rejected over and over and eventually just gave up.

The one lady I spoke to said it’s very hard to get food into Australia. I wondered why, but she couldn’t really tell me that. Just said it’s very hard.

Rob Veary
2 months ago

Hey there ! I’m over here in Canada, we buy our Orijen Original & Regional Red from the North Star kitchen in Alberta. The only food we feed our two Fox Red Labrador Retrievers is from Champion Pet food – based on the highest quality of manufacturing, research, health standards, quality and quantity of meats, protein %, lower carbs. Our family has always trusted this premium dog food, while other companies depend to much entirely on supplement’s and synthetics – artificial food developed in a laboratory. If you want the best commercially made dog food, you can’t go wrong with Champion Pet foods. Best regards, Rob.

josh
3 months ago

is this really better then lyka, frontier or ziwi ? this rating score is insane

Joshua
2 months ago

Thankyou for the response. I have a very very picky bull arab who eats ALOT of food she is very active 2 Years old runs approx 8 – 10 hours a day. I have tried soooooo many brands like. Stay loyal, canadae, blackhawk, frontier, glow, cherish, wild boar. Nothing I repeat nothing compares to orijen.

Mari loves the taste, she is super excited for dinner and breakfeast, she also gets whole chicken frames every couple of days. And she gets vegetables I have for dinner (I just cook extra). But wow, her coat, her skin, her energy levels, her bloody mood are all improved and I’m only one bag down.

This is a little more expensive but it is worth it, multiple flavours, I’ll swap her every second bag and rotate too keep interest. Only negative is I wouldn’t pay attention to there recommend feeding sizes (they say for an active fit dog feed 350g per day for a 35kg dog, I feed mari 600 grams a day. To keep up with her energy needs.

Edanna
4 months ago

So not to step on your toes or forcefully break any fingers haha, but no it’s not the highest protein or lowest carbs, these are.

D7B580D8-D1AD-4197-8647-8AD382AEC58E.jpeg
Edanna
4 months ago
Reply to  Edanna

And this.

2AA8BFCF-ECB7-4E7B-BE05-BC18D5920C85.jpeg
Sarah
4 months ago
Reply to  Edanna

Isn’t this an American dog kibble? Is it available in Australia?

Edanna
4 months ago
Reply to  Sarah

Yep it’s American and not available here. We unfortunately don’t have a keto kibble here which is unfortunate to say the least.

Our lower carb options are spread quiet thin when it comes to kibble.

PurePro is low carb, but it’s super high fat and Kcal.
Healthy Everyday Pets is still considered lower carb.
Orijen and Acana are considered lower carb.

Essentially to find out the carbs, you add protein/fat/fibre/ash and moisture together. Let’s say you get 62%, the carb percentage will be 38%. You simply add to the number until you reach 100 and whatever number you added that’s the carb count.

Now the issue with this, is some foods inflate the protein or fats or both so much that a food with zero meat can have 40% carbs or less. It’s always important to check the ingredients list as well. As to not be deceived.

Alternatively you have Freeze Dried, Air Dried, Canned and Raw, which will be more meat and organs than carbs.

Kirsten
3 months ago
Reply to  Sarah

Yes u can get it in Australia now. Iv been feeding it to my English staffy pup. He loves it.

Tammy
4 months ago

Would Orijen be irradiated?
I would love to buy it but need to know as this would stop me from getting it.
Thank you Tammy

Tammy
4 months ago

Thank you so much. I am looking forward to trying it. Thank you for your wonderful informative reviews. Best wishes Tammy

Jennifer A
4 months ago

I found out about Orijen from this site, and I’m so happy. The only thing that could make it better is if it was made here. Of course I prefer to support local manufacturing, and I feel guilty about the carbon footprint of shipping, but there simply isn’t a local equivalent. I do, however, also raw feed so that balances things out a bit.

It’s very expensive compared to other kibble, but I calculated it would cost under $5 a day for my golden retriever if fed exclusively, which I think I extremely reasonable for a family member. So maybe it’s not expensive as much as most other kibbles being cheap (and nasty).

I have to admit, my dog will eat anything so the fact that he loves it doesn’t mean a thing in itself. The cat, on the other hand, is the superlative example of fussy and even he likes it, so now I have to go and get the cat version for him.

5 months ago

I have a 12 yr old white desexed female German shepherd, a 5yo entire male Rottweiler & a 2yo desexed male Grey Hound X Bull Arab, the latter 2 were a)adopted after elderly owners became ill & b)pound puppy …… seeking better nutrition, not show dogs but saw the info on Orijen, bough a 11.3kg bag, hav not looked back with my decision to begin the Orijen journey. All 3 pooches are fine exhibits of this wonderful pdt inside and out, clearly noted by looking at them. The cost of the bags though is a concern as to whether I can upkeep this journey, but time will tell

johanna lovett
5 months ago

hi there, I am constantly looking for any pet food with low carbs as my dog suffers from allergies and chronic yeast infections, so naturally when i came across your review with an estimated carb percentage of %9 I got very excited. however i always do my own research and calculations to. i have been through the ingredients list with a fine tooth comb and cannot for the life of me find how you came to this result?

here are my calculations: (100 – protein(38) – fat(18) – moisture(12) ash(as per average) (8) = %24 carbs) note even if i subtract the fiber and odd other percentages its still nowhere near %9

i got the percentages from orijens website, guaranteed analysis section.

am i missing something?

Edanna
10 months ago

I recently got two Orijen albeit cat food formulas as cats are notoriously picky so the food will be super boosted in flavour for picky eaters. Anyways got the cat and kitten chicken and eggs and the regional red.

The regional red was an absolute hit, being eaten every single day for 3 weeks with absolutely no issue. They tend to get bored so this is a good sign. It smelled of beef, organs and the other red meats it contains.

I opened the chicken today as the beef is nearly all gone, 2 feedings left in the bag and 2 feedings in the bowl. It smells like chicken and eggs lol, like what did I expect haha. The dogs were not keen, but than they just ate and mind you they ate a lot.

All 3 compartments of Basil’s were eaten and Andzia ate 2 whole compartments. I will test if they like it, once I fully run out of the beef. I probably should’ve waited but I couldn’t contain my excitement any longer, I really had to open the bag.

The bags downsides are you can’t close them, you have to fold the opening over the side and lay it down on the opening. A 340g trial bag will cost you $15 from Very Pet with free shipping.

I was going to try the dog version of regional, but apparently it’s not available in Australia at this time. So that won’t happen. The nutrition of both cat and dog despite the similar ingredient lists are different, but not so much as for it to be a grave concern for me. Especially since they get 2x air dried as well.

I am most definitely going to continue to buy this brand, I will give them breaks from it here and there. But realistically I’d be more concerned about nutrient overdoses or lapses in regular kibble with synthetics than I would with this.

If it was a sole diet, I could possibly see some issues over a vast amount of time, as mentioned the differences are not very large. If you intend to feed the cat versions to your dogs, change it up with the dog versions from time to time.

Or simply add another food like freeze dried or air dried for dogs to ensure adequate vitamin and mineral intake.

Ken O
7 months ago

Your later reviews don’t seem the same as they used to be. No mention of where the food comes from and more like a marketing spiel. I don’t want to buy food that isn’t made in Australia or NZ.

28
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x