Nature’s Gift Nourish Dog Food Review

10
Nature’s Gift Nourish Dog Food Review
WebsiteNature’s Gift
ManufacturerReal Petfood Co
Country of originAustralia
Available fromMy Pet Warehouse

Nature’s Gift is readily available on the shelves of Woolworths and Coles.

The packaging states Australian Made & Owned, but I believe that requires a minimum of 50% of the ingredients to be sourced in Australia. It doesn’t necessarily mean 100% of the ingredients are sourced locally.

Nature's Gift Nourish Dog Food Review

The ingredients are deceiving. We see Chicken Meat and Poultry Meal as the first ingredient, but this is followed by wheat, rice, and potatoes which will very likely be as prominent as the first ingredient. The meat will also lose about 70% of it’s weight during cooking as it’s listed wet weight. That makes it very carb heavy, and carbs aren’t great for dogs.

We find some nice inclusions such as peas, carrots, and flaxseed, but also a few ingredients which aren’t so good. Potassium Sorbate is used as a preservative, common in “semi-moist” foods. It’s normally fine in small doses but can irritate the skin, eyes, and respiratory tract. Glycerine (should be “glycerin”) has no nutritional value, and is actually a by-product of soap making. It’s often used as a binder but is generally a safe ingredient. Phosphoric Acid is another pointless ingredient, used in cheaper foods to add flavour. It’s also used in Coke to add flavouring.

Nature's Gift Nourish Dog Food Review

One point worth mentioning is the food is 8% fat, one of the lowest fat foods available. That’s terrible, and testament to how much the food is packed with carbohydrates. Not good.

Did this review help?

I’d love your thoughts and feedback, and others would to. Please comment if you have anything to add! Pet Food Reviews takes up huge amounts of my time, so if these reviews have helped you, please tell others! The small commissions from the “where to buy links” really help, so please use them! Thank you 🙂

Ingredients

Fresh Australian Chicken Meat and Poultry Meal (contains no red meat), Whole Grain Wheat, Whole Grain Rice, Potatoes, Peas, Carrots, Rosemary, Canola Oil, Glycerine, DHA Omega 3, Flaxseed, Prebiotics, Chia Seed, Green Tea Extract, Taurine, Yucca Extract, Potassium Sorbate, Natural Colour, Phosphoric Acid, Sea Salt, Vitamins & Minerals, Natural Antioxidants.

5.8 Total Score
Carbs Carbs Carbs... and some Meat.

CONS
  • Too many carbs.
  • Very low fat.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
13 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
carl licastro
4 years ago

Is the kangaroo mix any better. Seems to have better ingredients?!

Edanna
4 years ago
Reply to  carl licastro

Looks the same just that it has sucrose or another form of sugar that’s not listed here and has beef meat as well, I went ingredient by ingredient and their the same except for the meat of course.

Kylie Rhodes
4 years ago

My dogs have been eating natures gift canned food for some time now, but the last 2 cans they seem like they don’t want to touch and 1 dog was very ill last night..this morning their preferred food is the dry food and ignoring canned. Just wondering if others have had any issues.

Stephanie Dunger
4 years ago
Reply to  Kylie Rhodes

My dog has had diarrhoea the last two times he’s eaten the cans! Won’t be buying them again

Edanna
4 years ago

I remember trying them on Rusty several years ago, I gave like half a spoon 3 times, he was sick all 3 times, the ingredients list reads pretty well but clearly the ingredients used are not up to standard as when it comes to other canned foods Rusty does very well on them.

Stephanie Dunger
4 years ago
Reply to  Edanna

Hmmm makes you wonder if there’s something not up to standard in their warehouse! I’m going to write to them about it I think. I’ve unfortunately bought a few cans at once so I’m going to see how my boy goes on a different type then I’ll test this one again. Thankfully it’s only the diarrhoea and no vomiting. He seems to be fine with the dry food

Amateria
5 years ago

Oh my goodness what have they become! These treat ingredients are appalling! They used to be pretty good, their eventually going to be the new Purina if they continue down this path!

Ingredients: Wholegrain Cereals (including Oats), Meat and Meat by-products (derived from Beef), Beef Liver, Tallow, Sugars, Salt, Natural Cellulose Fibre, Acidifiers, Natural Antioxidants.

Amateria
5 years ago

Totally testing disqus on here now that you guys added it!

Although I’m not a fan of the ingredients in this food, I can’t fault it either as our now adult puppy does really well on it.
She does however get Rusty’s food, raw prepared foods, Ziwipeak and all sorts of other natural stuff I buy so perhaps it’s like adding raw to kibble?
I’ve changed my concept on wheat anyways, it’s mostly just corn and unnamed stuff I hate now and of course the toxic preserves.

TK
6 years ago

I picked up Natures Gift as I normally do, then realised it was sitting in a plastic tray instead of the cardboard one it is normally in. Natures Gift and the Select brand were both in plastic trays whereas My dog and Pedigree are both in cardboard so I bought those instead. Why plastic I ask? The cardboard is perfectly good and recyclable and doesn’t make any sense to me to replace it with plastic.

L
6 years ago

I wouldn’t feed this as a primary food, but because it is semi moist my dog really enjoys it. I use it for training treats and to stuff toys with.

Janice Tonks
6 years ago

I have been buying chicken mini treats for my dog plus the dog food everything has been good my dog loves his treats plus the dog food, however very disappointed with the product because the last purchase which I brought from Coles in toronto nsw, it seems like there is a weavil in the mix, it’s left all this powdery covering the little treat. I would be grateful if you could reply what is the matter with this product. Regard jan tonks

Janice Tonks
6 years ago

No I haven’t I think I will send a email just didn’t know what to do

13
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x